Price: $29.95 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: In stock
Store availability: Available
Also available at Amazon

Liszt Ferenc: Apres une lecture du Dante

Earlier version and final version

Edited by Kaczmarczyk Adrienne – Mező Imre – Sulyok Imre
Setting: Piano
Series: Separate editions from the New Liszt Complete Critical Edition
Period: Romantic
Language: English, German
Length: 80 pages
Format: 23 x 30 cm
Weight: 0.119 kg
Published: July 1977
Publisher: Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó
Item number: 8189
ISMN: 9790080081891
Franz Liszt was barely 20 years old when he first read Dante's Divine Comedy, but it left a lasting impression on him throughout his entire life that only a truly impactful creation can have on the human soul. This is what inspired the Dante Sonata which Liszt premiered in Vienna in 1837. Stemming from this, he created a revised version entitled Apres une lecture du Dante, Fantasia quasi Sonata which appeared in 1856 within the second cycle of his Années de pelerinage (Years of Pilgrimage).

In the appendix of the present edition, the work's earlier version entitled Paralipomenes a la Divina Commedia, Fantaisie symphonique is also included. It has survived in the handwriting of Liszt's secretary, Gaetanio Belloni, and it contains autograph notes by Liszts.
This revised (2016) edition contains not only musical scores of excellent quality, but also a detailed preface in English and German as well as critical notes in English.

(Hungaroton HCD 31203)


Apres une lecture du Dante, Fantasie quasi Sonata, R 10b/7, SW 161/7, NG2 55/7
Appendix. Paralipomenes a la Divina Commedia, Fantaisie symphonique, R (10b/7), SW (161/7), SH 158a, NG2 (A55/7)
Anhang. Albumblätter
How can I shop?

Online purchase:

Buy directly from our web-shop via credit/debit card payment. With this method, only publications which we currently have on stock can be purchased.

In-store pickup:

If you prefer not to shop online, you also have the option to order from our website and we will forward your order to one of our partner music shops of your choosing. In this case, you will buy the scores directly from the shop and pay for them there upon pickup.

Your purchase and payment method can be set here.

Sound samples are used by the permission of Hungaroton Records, BMCBBCC and the composers.
Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.