Price: $59.00 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: In stock
Store availability: Available
Also available at Amazon

Liszt Ferenc: Studies II (Trois Études de Concert, Ab irato, Two Concert-Studies, Paganini-Studies)

Liszt, Works for Piano Solo, Vol. 2

Edited by Gárdonyi Zoltán – Szelényi István
Setting: Piano
Series: Liszt, Works for Piano Solo
Period: Romantic
Language: English, German
Length: 128 pages
Format: 23 x 30 cm
Weight: 0.468 kg
Published: 1970
Publisher: Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó
Item number: 5412
ISMN: 9790080054123
The second volume of the New Liszt Edition, published in 1971, continues the publication of the études. The first volume contained the Transcendental Etudes, while this volume contains several smaller series of études and one independent étude.

The widely used subtitles of Trois Études de Concert (1. Il lamento, 2. La leggerezza, and 3. Un sospiro) are now thought not to originate from Liszt. They were probably invented by a Paris publisher. The Ab irato is a virtuoso concert étude arrangement of Morceau de salon, made ten years later. The Two Concert Studies, which Liszt composed in 1863 for the Grand Theoretical and Practical Piano School by Sigmund Lebert and Ludwig Stark, became rather popular already in his lifetime. Today they are among the most often played works by Liszt. Finally, one of the fruits of the encounter between Liszt and Paganini in 1832 was Liszt's series of studies composed after Paganini's Caprices, the Grandes études de Paganini.

This edition includes footnotes highlighting common performance difficulties as well as English and German prefaces, one facsimile, and (in the clothbound version) critical notes in English.


Trois Études de Concert - Trois Caprices poétiques 1. Il lamento
R. 5 G. 144
Trois Études de Concert - Trois Caprices poétiques 2. La leggierezza
R. 5 G. 144
Trois Études de Concert - Trois Caprices poétiques 3. Un sospiro
R. 5 G. 144
Ab irato
R 4/b G. 145
Two Concert-Studies - 1.Waldesrauschen
R. 6 G. 145
Two Concert-Studies - 2. Gnomenreigen
R. 6 G. 145
Grandes Études de Paganini 1. Preludio; Etude (g-moll - G minor - g-Moll)
R. 3/b G. 141
Grandes Études de Paganini 2. (Esz-dúr - E-flat major - Es-Dur)
R. 3/b G. 141
Grandes Études de Paganini 3. La campanella (gisz-moll - G-sharp minor- gis-Moll)
R. 3/b G. 141
Grandes Études de Paganini 4. (E-dúr - E major - E-Dur)
R. 3/b G. 141
Grandes Études de Paganini 5. (E-dúr - E major - E-Dur)
R. 3/b G. 141
Grandes Études de Paganini 6. (a moll - A minor - a-Moll)
How can I shop?

Online purchase:

Buy directly from our web-shop via credit/debit card payment. With this method, only publications which we currently have on stock can be purchased.

In-store pickup:

If you prefer not to shop online, you also have the option to order from our website and we will forward your order to one of our partner music shops of your choosing. In this case, you will buy the scores directly from the shop and pay for them there upon pickup.

Your purchase and payment method can be set here.

Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.