Price: $19.95 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: In stock
Store availability: Available
Also available at Amazon

Liszt Ferenc: Christmas Tree (Nos 1-12)

New, enlarged edition (R 71, SW/SH 186, NG2 A267)

Preface by Kaczmarczyk Adrienne
Edited by Mező Imre – Sulyok Imre
Setting: Piano
Series: Separate editions from the New Liszt Complete Critical Edition
Length: 56 pages
Format: 23 x 30 cm
Weight: 0.16 kg
Published: 1982
Publisher: Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó
Item number: 12316
ISMN: 9790080123164
Liszt completed Weihnachtsbaum (Christmas Tree), a collection of twelve short piano pieces, in 1876. Two years earlier he laid out its concept in a letter to Carolyne zu Sayn-Wittgenstein as follows: ''These will not be learned or ostentatious works, but simple reflections of my youthful emotions which remain indestructible across the trials of the years.'' Weihnachtsbaum belongs among the handful of compositions by Liszt that turn towards the world of children and, at least in part, reflect their emotions.

Five pieces of the collection are arrangements of Christmas carols of various origins. The remaining character pieces were written using themes by the composer himself. Liszt dedicated Weihnachtsbaum to his eldest grandchild Daniela von Bülow, whose correspondence with Liszt suggests an especially close relationship. The ceremonial first performance took place at Christmas of the same year: Daniela visited her grandfather in Rome, who played the gift he had intended for her.

This revised (2020) edition adopts the score and the critical report of the New Liszt Edition (amending it, if necessary). In addition, it includes a preface in German and English, that explores the genesis of the work on the basis of current research, and orients the reader in issues of notation.

This publication is printed on high quality, durable paper made from renewable raw materials in an environmentally friendly way.


'Psallite' - Altes Weihnachtslied
O heilige Nacht! - Weihnachtslied nach einer alten Weise
Die hirten an der Krippe (In dulci jubilo)
Adeste fideles - Gleichsam als Marsch der heiligen drei Könige)
Scherzoso - Man zündet die Kerzen des Baumes an
'Carillon' - Chimes
Altes provenzalisches Weihnachtslied
How can I shop?

Online purchase:

Buy directly from our web-shop via credit/debit card payment. With this method, only publications which we currently have on stock can be purchased.

In-store pickup:

If you prefer not to shop online, you also have the option to order from our website and we will forward your order to one of our partner music shops of your choosing. In this case, you will buy the scores directly from the shop and pay for them there upon pickup.

Your purchase and payment method can be set here.

Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.