How can I shop?

Online purchase:

Buy directly from our web-shop via credit/debit card payment. With this method, only publications which we currently have on stock can be purchased.

In-store pickup:

If you prefer not to shop online, you also have the option to order from our website and we will forward your order to one of our partner music shops of your choosing. In this case, you will buy the scores directly from the shop and pay for them there upon pickup.

Your purchase and payment method can be set here.

Sound samples are used by the permission of Hungaroton Records, BMCBBCC and the composers.
Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.

Need help?

If you can't find what you're looking for, please contact our Customer Service Team

Phone: +36 1 2361-104

Email: info­@­

More numbers...

Price: $49.00 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: In stock
Store availability: Available

Liszt Ferenc: Grosses Konzertsolo, Sonate, B-A-C-H

Liszt, Works for Piano Solo, Vol. 5

Edited by Boronkay Antal Pál
Setting: Piano
Series: Liszt, Works for Piano Solo
Period: Romantic
Language: English, German
Length: 104 pages
Format: 23 x 30 cm
Weight: 0.398 kg
Published: December 1983
Publisher: Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó
Item number: 7295
ISMN: 9790080072950
Liszt wrote the Grosses Konzertsolo in 1849-50 for a piano competition at the Paris Conservatoire, and dedicated it to Adolf Henselt. In this work Liszt was experimenting with new means of expression. According to his memoirs, the work was so difficult that even Henselt could not manage it, and the premiere was given by Tausig. The dedication of the Sonata (Liszt's only extant work with this title and form) is to Schumann, who had, long beforehand, dedicated his C major Fantasy to Liszt. The Sonata forms a pair to the Faust symphony, and thematic similarities can be detected between the two works. The B-A-C-H Fantasy and Fugue was originally written for organ. The work was intended to be played at the inauguration of the new organ in the Merseburg Cathedral, but Liszt did not complete it in time, so the premiere did not take place until half a year later. Liszt also transcribed the work for piano, then later revised both the piano and the organ versions. The main part of the volume contains the second version for piano, and in the appendix can be found the first version for piano.

As customary, there are two versions of the publication: a blue clothbound edition and a grey softcover edition. The preface, which gives the most important information on the contents and technical details, is identical in both versions, but only the former includes an English description of the sources and a critical commentary. Both versions include facsimiles of pages from Liszt's original autograph manuscript.

Works marked by an asterisk in the Contents are published here for the first time in print.

Hungaroton HCD 12769


Grosses Konzertsolo
R 18, SW/SH 176,NG2 A167
Sonate (h-moll - B minor - h-Moll)
R 21, SW/SH 178, NG2 A179
Fantasie und Fuge über das Thema B-A-C-H
R 22 SW 529 SH 529i, NG2 A250
Praeludium und Fuge über das Motiv B-a-c-h * (1. változat - 1st version - 1. Fassung)
R-, SW-, SH 529ii, NG2 A250

Copyright © 2017 Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó Ltd.  All rights are reserved. 

About usTerms & Conditions | Technical contact: webmaster­@­

Editio Musica Budapest and EMB are registered trade marks of Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó Kft and are used under Licence.