Price: $79.00 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: In stock
Store availability: Available
Also available at Amazon

Liszt Ferenc: Dances, Marches and Scherzos II

Liszt, Works for Piano Solo, Vol. 14

Edited by Mező Imre – Sulyok Imre
Setting: Piano
Series: Liszt, Works for Piano Solo
Period: Romantic
Language: English, German
Length: 164 pages
Format: 23 x 30 cm
Weight: 0.598 kg
Published: 1984
Publisher: Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó
Item number: 8858
ISMN: 9790080088586
Volumes I/13-14 of the New Liszt Edition contain dance pieces, marches, and scherzos. As far as possible, in the volumes the pieces are given in chronological order. The works in volume 14 were composed over a period spanning 35 years, with the earliest written in 1849, and the latest in 1885. Liszt wrote the Ungarischer Geschwindmarsch (Hungarian quick march) in 1870 in Szekszárd, where, with minor breaks, he spent the months from August to November.

In the footnotes, as well as editorial comments we give the performance indications that August Göllerich noted down in 1884-86, when he took piano lessons from the composer.

As customary, there are two versions of the publication: a blue clothbound edition and a grey softcover edition. The preface, which gives the most important information on the contents and technical details, is identical in both versions, but only the former includes an English description of the sources and a critical commentary. Both versions include a facsimile of a page of Liszt's original autograph manuscript.


Goethe-Festmarsch (2. változat - 2nd version - 2. Fassung)
R. 48/b G. 521
Siegesmarsch - Marche triomphale
R. 56/a G. 233/a
Magyar gyors induló - Ungarischer Geschwindmarsch
R. 56 G. 233
Csardas macabre
R. 46 G. 224
Premiere Valse oubliée
R. 37/1 G. 215
Deuxieme Valse oubliée
R. 37/2 G. 215
Troisieme Valse oubliée
R. 37/3 G. 215
Vierter vergessener Walzer - Quatrieme Valse oubliée
R. 37/4 G. 215
Dritter Mephisto-Walzer
R. 38 G. 216
R. 39 G. 217
R. 52 G. 230
2 Csardas 1. Csardas
R. 45 G. 225
2 Csardas 2. Csardas obstinée - Hartnäckiger Csardas
Vierter Mephisto-Walzer
R. 661 G. 696
Vierter Mephisto-Walzer Bagatelle ohne Tonart - Bagatelle sans tonalité
R. 60/c G. 216/a
Festmarsch zur Säkularfeier von Goethes Geburtstag (1. változat - 1st version - 1. Fassung)
R. 48/a G. 227
How can I shop?

Online purchase:

Buy directly from our web-shop via credit/debit card payment. With this method, only publications which we currently have on stock can be purchased.

In-store pickup:

If you prefer not to shop online, you also have the option to order from our website and we will forward your order to one of our partner music shops of your choosing. In this case, you will buy the scores directly from the shop and pay for them there upon pickup.

Your purchase and payment method can be set here.

Sound samples are used by the permission of Hungaroton Records, BMCBBCC and the composers.
Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.