Price: $59.00 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: In stock
Store availability: Available

Liszt Ferenc: Individual Character Pieces II

Liszt, Works for Piano Solo, Vol. 12

Edited by Mező Imre – Sulyok Imre
Setting: Piano
Series: Liszt, Works for Piano Solo
Period: Romantic
Language: English, German
Length: 120 pages
Format: 23 x 30 cm
Weight: 0.457 kg
Published: October 1978
Publisher: Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó
Item number: 6217
ISMN: 9790080062173
Volume I/11-12 of the New Liszt Edition contains character pieces. The period in which the pieces in volume 12 were written spans a good twenty years, and includes works both sacred and profane in inspiration, as the titles indicate. They are varied in mood and subject, and include funeral music, such as Trübe Wolken, Die Trauer-Gondel Nos. 1-2, the Trauervorspiel und Trauermarsch, the piece Am Grabe Richard Wagners, but also wedding music, the Epithalam, which was written for Ede Reményi's wedding; we can also find the only piece the composer wrote as a joke, entitled Carrousel de Madame P-N. Several pieces in this volume, first published in 1981, appeared here in print for the first time (Vexilla Regis prodeunt, Urbi et orbi).

As far as possible, the pieces are given in chronological order. As customary, there are two versions of the publication: a blue clothbound edition and a grey softcover edition. The preface, which gives the most important information on the contents and technical details, is identical in both versions, but only the former includes an English description of the sources and a critical commentary. Both versions include facsimiles of pages from Liszt's original autograph manuscript.

Works marked by an asterisk in the Contents are published here for the first time in print.

(Hungaroton HCD 11976-2)


Vexilla Regis prodeunt *
R 70, SW 185, NG2 A226
Urbi et orbi *
R 69, SW/SH 184, NG2 A229
Un portrait en musique
R 65, SW/SH 190, NG2 A241
Ave Maria (aus den neun Kirchenchorgesängen)
R 193b, SW/SH 504/2, NG2 A247
Stabat Mater *
R (478), SW 579/3, SH 172b,
R 189, SW/SH 526, NG2 A260
R 59, SW 191, SH 192ii, NG2
R 86, SW/SH 204, NG2 A280
Sancta Dorothea
R 73, SW/SH 187, NG2 A278
Carrousel de Madame P-N
R 60/b, SW/SH 214a, NG2 A271
R 60/a, SW/SH 197a, NG2 A295
Resignazione (1. változat - 1st version - 1. Fassung)
R (388), SW (263), SH 187a,
In festo transfigurationis Domini
R 74, SW/SH 188, NG2 A300
Romance oubliée - Vergessene Romanze
R 66b, SW/SH 527, NG2 A299
Ave Maria (IV)
R 194, SW/SH 545, NG2 A308
Wiegenlied - Chant du berceau
R 58, SW/SH 198, NG2 A303
Trübe Wolken - Nuages gris
R 78, SW/SH 199, NG2 A305
Die Trauer-Gondel Nr. 1 - La lugubre gondola No. 1
R 81/I SW/SH 200/1, NG2 A319a
R. W. - Venezia
R 82, SW/SH 201, NG2 A320
R 79, SW/SH 203, NG2 A322
Am Grabe Richard Wagners
R 85, SW/SH 202, NG2 A321
Die Trauer-Gondel Nr. 2 - La lugubre gondola No. 2
R 81/II, SW/SH 200/2, NG2 A319
Trauervorspiel und Trauermarsch
R 84, SW/SH 206, NG2 A334
En reve
R 87, SW/SH 207, NG2 A336
Unstern! - Sinistre
R 80, SW/SH 208, NG2 A312
How can I shop?

Online purchase:

Buy directly from our web-shop via credit/debit card payment. With this method, only publications which we currently have on stock can be purchased.

In-store pickup:

If you prefer not to shop online, you also have the option to order from our website and we will forward your order to one of our partner music shops of your choosing. In this case, you will buy the scores directly from the shop and pay for them there upon pickup.

Your purchase and payment method can be set here.

Sound samples are used by the permission of Hungaroton Records, BMCBBCC and the composers.
Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.