Price: $59.00 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: In stock
Store availability: Available
Also available at Amazon

Liszt Ferenc: Symphonies de L. van Beethoven Nos 5-7, Marche funebre (No. 3, II) (First versions)

Liszt, Works for Piano Solo, Supplementary vol. 11

Edited by Mező Imre
Setting: Piano
Series: Liszt, Works for Piano Solo, Supplementary volumes
Period: Romantic
Language: Hungarian, English, German
Length: 208 pages
Format: 23 x 30 cm
Weight: 0.757 kg
Published: November 2008
Publisher: Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó
Item number: 14506
ISMN: 9790080145067
There were two periods in Liszt's life when he worked intensively at transcribing Beethoven's symphonies for the piano: between 1835 and 1843, and between 1863 and 1865. In the earlier period he produced the piano versions of symphonies nos. 5, 6, and 7, and the second movement of symphony no. 3 (Marche fun?bre). In the later period, Liszt wrote the piano transcriptions of the other symphonies, and also revised the earlier 'piano scores' as he himself termed the piano transcriptions, a much richer genre than a mere piano reduction.

Supplementary volume 11 of the New Liszt Edition contains Symphonies nos. 5-7, and an early version of the Marche fun?bre, and thus makes it possible for performers and musicologists to study Liszt's earlier and later piano versions of these Beethoven symphonies by placing them side by side.

The volume includes a detailed preface in German, English, and Hungarian, including new research findings and manuscript facsimiles, as well as critical notes in English. Along with the cloth-bound edition, a practical paperback version has also been published, the contents of which are identical, but for the omission of the critical notes.


Cinquieme Symphonie de L. van Beethoven
Sixieme Symphonie - Symphonie pastorale de L. van Beethoven
7. Sinfonie de L. van Beethoven
Marche funebre de la Symphonie héroique de L. van Beethoven
How can I shop?

Online purchase:

Buy directly from our web-shop via credit/debit card payment. With this method, only publications which we currently have on stock can be purchased.

In-store pickup:

If you prefer not to shop online, you also have the option to order from our website and we will forward your order to one of our partner music shops of your choosing. In this case, you will buy the scores directly from the shop and pay for them there upon pickup.

Your purchase and payment method can be set here.

Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.