Price: $59.00 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: In stock
Store availability: Available

Liszt Ferenc: Piano Versions of His Own Works II

Liszt, Works for Piano Solo, Vol. 16

Edited by Mező Imre – Sulyok Imre
Setting: Piano
Series: Liszt, Works for Piano Solo
Period: Romantic
Language: English, German
Length: 192 pages
Format: 23,5 x 31 cm (K/4)
Weight: 0.693 kg
Published: 1982
Publisher: Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó
Item number: 8859
ISMN: 9790080088593
Volumes I/15-17 of the New Liszt Edition contain the piano versions of Liszt's own works for other instruments or voices. Volume 16 features the piano version of several works with a Hungarian connection, such as the fantasy written to the melodies of the Szózat and the National Anthem, the Hungarian Coronation Mass and the Hungarian March for Coronation Ceremonies; several piano works are keyboard transcriptions of excerpts from large-scale compositions for orchestra or choir and orchestra, such as a few movements of the oratorio Christus or the Legend of Saint Elizabeth.

As far as possible, the pieces are given in chronological order. In the footnotes, as well as editorial comments we give the performance indications that August Göllerich noted down in 1884-86, when he took piano lessons from the composer.

As customary, there are two versions of the publication: a blue clothbound edition and a grey softcover edition. The informative preface giving the most important information on the contents and technical details is identical in both versions, but only the former version includes an English description of the sources and a critical commentary. At the beginning of the volume can be found a facsimile of a page from Liszt's original autograph manuscript.


R. 188 G. 525
Le triomphe du Tasse
R. 184 G. 517
Zwei Orchestersätze aus dem Oratorium Christus 1. Hirtengesang an der Krippe
R. (478) G ľ
Zwei Orchestersätze aus dem Oratorium Christus 2. Die heiligen drei Könige
R. (478) G ľ
Drei Stücke aus der Legende der heiligen Elisabeth 1. Orchester Einleitung
R. (477) G. ľ
Drei Stücke aus der Legende der heiligen Elisabeth 2. Marsch der Kreuzritter
R. (477) G. ľ
Drei Stücke aus der Legende der heiligen Elisabeth 3. Interludium
R. (477) G. ľ
Aus der Ungarischen Krönungsmesse 1. Benedictus
R. 192 G. 501
Aus der Ungarischen Krönungsmesse 2. Offertorium
R. 192 G. 501
Ave maris stella
R. 195 G. 506
Gaudeamus igitur (Humoreske)
R. 200 G. 509
Ungarischer Marsch (zur Krönungsfeier in Ofen-Pest am 8ten Juni 1876)
R. 55 G. 523
Szózat und Ungarischer Hymnus - Szózat és Magyar Himnusz
R. 158 G. 486
Gretchen (Aus Faust-Symphonie)
R. 180 G. 513
Ungarischer Sturmmarsch (Neue Bearbeitung 1876)
R. 54/b G. 524
Seconde marche hongroise - Ungarischer Sturmmarsch (1. változat -1st version -1. Fassung)
R. 54/a G. 232
How can I shop?

Online purchase:

Buy directly from our web-shop via credit/debit card payment. With this method, only publications which we currently have on stock can be purchased.

In-store pickup:

If you prefer not to shop online, you also have the option to order from our website and we will forward your order to one of our partner music shops of your choosing. In this case, you will buy the scores directly from the shop and pay for them there upon pickup.

Your purchase and payment method can be set here.

Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.