Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his rightful income for his intellectual property.

Need help?

If you can't find what you're looking for, please contact our sales team

Phone: +36 1 2361-104

Email: info­@­


We think you are from United States. If not, please select your country.
The country setting is indispensable for showing you valid prices and shipping costs.
Thank you!
If you can't close this box, you probably don't have "cookies" enabled in your browser.
Follow these instructions to enable "cookies" in your browser.
Price: $18.45 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: In stock
Store availability: Available to order

Liszt Ferenc: Dance Macabre

R 188, SW/SH 525, NG2 A62

Edited by Sulyok Imre, Mező Imre
Preface by Kaczmarczyk Adrienne
Setting: Piano
Series: Separate editions from the New Liszt Complete Critical Edition
Period: Romantic
Length: 36 pages
Published: 1984
Publisher: Editio Musica Budapest
Item number: 12718
ISMN: 9790080127186
Throughout his life, Liszt’s imagination was almost obsessed with notions of death and mourning. He composed many works on these topics, such as Pensée des morts, Funérailles, the two versions of La lugubre gondola, and Totentanz (Dance of Death), based on the Gregorian Dies irae sequence depicting the horrors of the Last Judgement. The latter project matured over a period of several decades, beginning in 1830, when Liszt heard the premiere of Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique, whose finale includes the Dies irae theme. Along with this musical impression, Liszt was stirred by horrifying visual representations of the dance of death by Holbein and Buffalmacco. Totentanz, composed as a series of variations, was finally completed during Liszt’s Weimar period as one of its most outstanding compositions.

Of the three versions for piano solo, two pianos, and piano and orchestra, this edition contains the two-hand piano solo version. It is based on the New Liszt Edition, and provides a revised score, a facsimile reproduction, and critical notes. The new editorial preface orientates the reader in all the major questions regarding the work's genesis.