How can I shop?

Online purchase:

Buy directly from our web-shop via credit/debit card payment. With this method, only publications which we currently have on stock can be purchased.

In-store pickup:

If you prefer not to shop online, you also have the option to order from our website and we will forward your order to one of our partner music shops of your choosing. In this case, you will buy the scores directly from the shop and pay for them there upon pickup.

Your purchase and payment method can be set here.

Sound samples are used by the permission of Hungaroton Records, BMCBBCC and the composers.
Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.

Need help?

If you can't find what you're looking for, please contact our Customer Service Team

Phone: +36 1 2361-104

Email: info­@­

More numbers...

Scoring Abbreviations
Price: $175.00 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: In stock
Store availability: Available

Győrffy István: Ungaresca

for concert band

score and parts

Setting: Concert Band
Instrumentation: picc, 4 fl1, 4 fl2, ob1, ob2, 4 cl1 Bb, 4 cl2 Bb, 4 cl3 Bb, 2 cl b Bb, fg1, fg2, sax a1 Eb, sax a2 Eb, 2 sax t Bb, sax bar Eb - 2 crnt1 Bb, 2 crnt2 Bb, 2 tr1 Bb, 2 tr2 Bb, 2 tr3 Bb, cor1, cor2, cor3, cor4, 2 trb1, 2 trb2, 2 trb3, 2 flic t Bb/C, 2 euf C/Bb, 2 tb1, 2 tb2 - tamb mil, ptti, gr c
Series: EMB Concert Band Series
Genre: Band Music
Period: Contemporary Music
Language: Hungarian, English
Grade: 5
Duration: 13:30
Length: 414 pages
Format: Bach (23 x 30,2 cm)
Published: October 2014
Publisher: Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest
Item number: 14913SET
Other reference: 14913
ISMN: 9790080305294
Hungarian-style dance music which flourished in the 16th and 17th centuries - generally referred to as ungaresca - represents a valuable part of European musical tradition. István Győrffy's work (2007-2010) is a late successor of this tradition. It was written with the intention of embodying the eastern-central European tradition in order to present an alternative to the current fashions of music for wind instruments. The composer's approach to this style utilizes traditional forms of music. Both the first and third movements effectively optimize a concert band's tonal possibilities by using solos and small chamber groups in a varied manner. The slow and melodic second movement transfers a characteristic playing technique of Hungarian instrumental folk music to the concert band.

István Győrffy composed Ungaresca for young people preparing for careers in music. The work provides an excellent opportunity for students not only to display their instrumental skills, but also to gain orchestral playing experience.


Allegro pesante
Allegro ma non troppo

Copyright © 2017 Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó Ltd.  All rights are reserved. 

About usTerms & Conditions | Technical contact: webmaster­@­

Editio Musica Budapest and EMB are registered trade marks of Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó Kft and are used under Licence.