How can I shop?

Online purchase:

Buy directly from our web-shop via credit/debit card payment. With this method, only publications which we currently have on stock can be purchased.

In-store pickup:

If you prefer not to shop online, you also have the option to order from our website and we will forward your order to one of our partner music shops of your choosing. In this case, you will buy the scores directly from the shop and pay for them there upon pickup.

Your purchase and payment method can be set here.

Sound samples are used by the permission of Hungaroton Records, BMCBBCC and the composers.
Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.

Need help?

If you can't find what you're looking for, please contact our Customer Service Team

Phone: +36 1 2361-104

Email: info­@­

More numbers...

Scoring Abbreviations
Price: $9.95 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: Not available at the moment
Store availability: Usually ships in 30+ days

Balázs Árpád: Concertino

for concert band


Setting: Concert Band
Instrumentation: picc, 4 fl1, 4 fl2, ob1, ob2, 4 cl1 Bb, 4 cl2 Bb, 4 cl3 Bb, 2 cl b Bb, fg1, fg2, 2 sax a Eb, 2 sax t Bb, sax bar Eb - 2 crnt1 Bb, 2 crnt2 Bb, 2 tr1 Bb, 2 tr2 Bb, 2 tr3 Bb, cor1, cor2, cor3, cor4, 2 trb1, 2 trb2, 2 trb3, 2 flic t Bb/C, 2 euf Bb/C, 2 euf Bb, 2 tb1, 2 tb2 - timp, tamb mil, ptti, gr c
Series: EMB Concert Band Series
Genre: Band Music
Period: Contemporary Music
Grade: 4
Duration: 8:35
Length: 36 pages
Format: A/4
Published: June 2014
Publisher: Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest
Item number: 14909
Other reference: 14909SET
ISMN: 9790080149096
With its energetic impetus and brilliant instrumentation, Concertino is outstanding in the oeuvre of Árpád Balázs. Among his compositions for concert band, it is by far the most engaging and demanding work. Passing away and a will to live are simultaneously present in Concertino, which Árpád Balázs composed in memory of his beloved father. Its structure brings Liszt's Hungarian Rhapsodies to mind. Its solemn opening (which returns at the end) is followed by a slow and a fast movement; the funereal music of the slow movement evolves from a motif from Bach's St. Matthew Passion which intensifies in a manner similar to the lament in Grieg's Peer Gynt. The pulsing timpani is featured significantly at the beginning and the end of the funereal music. The fast movement represents resolution, resignation, and regained gaiety. This part, pulsating like a waltz and echoing the modulation technique of Richard Strauss, is followed by the solemn return of the opening chords. This music ensures a thrilling experience for listeners and performers alike.

Copyright © 2017 Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó Ltd.  All rights are reserved. 

About usTerms & Conditions | Technical contact: webmaster­@­

Editio Musica Budapest and EMB are registered trade marks of Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó Kft and are used under Licence.