How can I shop?

Online purchase:

Buy directly from our web-shop via credit/debit card payment. With this method, only publications which we currently have on stock can be purchased.

In-store pickup:

If you prefer not to shop online, you also have the option to order from our website and we will forward your order to one of our partner music shops of your choosing. In this case, you will buy the scores directly from the shop and pay for them there upon pickup.

Your purchase and payment method can be set here.

Sound samples are used by the permission of Hungaroton Records, BMCBBCC and the composers.
Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.

Need help?

If you can't find what you're looking for, please contact our Customer Service Team

Phone: +36 1 2361-104

Email: info­@­

More numbers...

Scoring Abbreviations
Price: $89.95 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: In stock
Store availability: Available

Zempléni László: Saltus Hungaricus

using melodies from the Linus 18th-century dance collection for concert band

score and parts

Setting: Concert Band
Instrumentation: picc, 8 fl, 2 ob, 2 fg, 4 cl1 Bb, 4 cl2 Bb, 4 cl3 Bb, 2 cl b Bb, sax a1 Eb, sax a2 Eb, 2 sax t Bb, sax bar Eb - 4 tr1 Bb, 4 tr2 Bb, 4 cor, 4 trb, 2 flic t Bb/C, 4 tb - timp, 4 perc (glsp, xyl, 5 t bl, 2 bongos, cast, ptto sosp, cow bell, trgl, gr c, tamb b)
Series: EMB Concert Band Series
Genre: Band Music
Grade: 2
Duration: 3:00
Length: 178 pages
Format: Bach (23 x 30,2 cm)
Published: April 2013
Publisher: Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest
Item number: 14839SET
Other reference: 14839
ISMN: 9790080305232
The second half of the 18th century, for the people of East Central Europe, was the time of the awakening of national consciousness. The leading force in the Hungarian enlightenment, the lesser nobility, also regarded as important the national character of the country's culture. A valuable kind of national music was the Hungarian dance music that flourished in the 18th century. The greater part of the repertoire naturally perpetuates the 'Hungarian-style' pieces from the previous centuries (appearing in foreign collections too described as hungaricus, ungaresca, saltus hungaricus or Ungarischer Tanz), but beside these we can encounter contemporary European dances and entertaining instrumental pieces in almost every style.

The majority of the sources are collections compiled by non-professional musicians and intendedfor private music-making. In this work the composer uses melodies from the 18th-century Linus dance collection, in trioform, with harmonies and bass appropriate to that period. The musical fabric is rich in counterparts, the sound is mademore colourful with many kinds of percussion instruments. The register and rhythmic simplicity of the parts make thepieces easily playable even by music school pupils.

Copyright © 2017 Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó Ltd.  All rights are reserved. 

About usTerms & Conditions | Technical contact: webmaster­@­

Editio Musica Budapest and EMB are registered trade marks of Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó Kft and are used under Licence.