This publication was sponsored by the National Cultural Fund of Hungary.

Price: $350.00 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: In stock
Store availability: Available

Bartók Béla: String Quartets Nos. 1-6. Critical Commentary

Béla Bartók Complete Critical Edition, vol. 30

complete edition

Edited by Nakahara, Yusuke – Németh Zsombor – Somfai László
Setting: String Quartet
Series: Béla Bartók Complete Critical Edition
Genre: Complete Edition
Period: 20th Century
Language: English
Length: 316 pages
Published: February 2023
Publisher: G. Henle Verlag - Editio Musica Budapest
Item number: 15030
Other reference: HN 6207
ISMN: 9790080150306
Bartók's six string quartets belong to the gems of the genre, all of them being regarded as classics of 20th-century music. The Critical Commentary volume that accompanies the critical edition of the six works (published in vol. 29) not only presents the sources of the works (from sketches through printed editions and Bartók's corrected copies) and documents the discrepancies between the sources and all editorial decisions but, based on the entire source material, it also reveals the compositional process in the greatest detail possible through verbal notes and annotated diplomatic transcriptions. The transcriptions (that constitute the half of the volume) offer an especially exciting insight into the genesis of these works. In addition, the edition includes Bartók's analysis of String Quartets Nos. 4 and 5 in the original languages, and his sketch for an unmaterialized seventh quartet.
BBCCE volumes published so far
Separate Editions from the Bartók Critical Edition
How can I shop?

Online purchase:

Buy directly from our web-shop via credit/debit card payment. With this method, only publications which we currently have on stock can be purchased.

In-store pickup:

If you prefer not to shop online, you also have the option to order from our website and we will forward your order to one of our partner music shops of your choosing. In this case, you will buy the scores directly from the shop and pay for them there upon pickup.

Your purchase and payment method can be set here.

Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.