This publication was sponsored by the National Cultural Fund of Hungary.

Price: $413.00 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: In stock
Store availability: Available
Also available at Amazon

Bartók Béla: String Quartets Nos.1-6

Béla Bartók Complete Critical Edition, vol. 29

complete edition

Edited by Németh Zsombor – Somfai László
Setting: String Quartet
Series: Béla Bartók Complete Critical Edition
Genre: Complete Edition
Period: 20th Century
Language: Hungarian, English, German
Length: 376 pages
Published: May 2022
Publisher: G. Henle Verlag - Editio Musica Budapest
Item number: 15029
Other reference: HN 6206
ISMN: 9790201862064
Bartók's six string quartets belong to the gems of the genre, all of them being regarded as classics of 20th-century music. Based on a careful study of all contemporary manuscript and printed sources, volume 29 of the Bartók Complete Critical Edition presents the full scores of all six quartets in a new critical edition. The introductory studies in English, Hungarian, and German that preface the edition explore not only the genesis and reception of the quartets, but also provide the most detailed guidance to date in questions concerning the notation and performance of the music. The volume also includes the critical edition of Bartók's analyses of String Quartets Nos. 4 and 5 in English translation. The critical commentary for this edition is published in volume 30 of the Complete Edition.
BBCCE volumes published so far
Separate Editions from the Bartók Critical Edition
How can I shop?

Online purchase:

Buy directly from our web-shop via credit/debit card payment. With this method, only publications which we currently have on stock can be purchased.

In-store pickup:

If you prefer not to shop online, you also have the option to order from our website and we will forward your order to one of our partner music shops of your choosing. In this case, you will buy the scores directly from the shop and pay for them there upon pickup.

Your purchase and payment method can be set here.

Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.