How can I shop?

Online purchase:

Buy directly from our web-shop via credit/debit card payment. With this method, only publications which we currently have on stock can be purchased.

In-store pickup:

If you prefer not to shop online, you also have the option to order from our website and we will forward your order to one of our partner music shops of your choosing. In this case, you will buy the scores directly from the shop and pay for them there upon pickup.

Your purchase and payment method can be set here.

Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.

Need help?

If you can't find what you're looking for, please contact our sales team

Phone:+386 31 428 189

Email: info­@­

Phone: +36 1 2361-104

Email: info­@­

More numbers...

This publication was sponsored by the National Cultural Fund of Hungary.

Cena: $350.00 (Brez DDV)
Online availability: In stock
Store availability: Available

Bartók Béla: String Quartets Nos. 1-6. Critical Commentary

Béla Bartók Complete Critical Edition, vol. 30

Edited by Nakahara, Yusuke, Németh Zsombor, Somfai László
Zasedba: String Quartet
Serija: Béla Bartók Complete Critical Edition
Zvrst: Complete Edition
Obdobje: 20th Century
Jezik: English
Število strani: 316 strani
Leto izdaje: Februar 2023
Založba: G. Henle Verlag - Editio Musica Budapest
Številka artikla: 15030
Založniška številka: HN 6207
ISMN: 9790080150306
Bartók's six string quartets belong to the gems of the genre, all of them being regarded as classics of 20th-century music. The Critical Commentary volume that accompanies the critical edition of the six works (published in vol. 29) not only presents the sources of the works (from sketches through printed editions and Bartók's corrected copies) and documents the discrepancies between the sources and all editorial decisions but, based on the entire source material, it also reveals the compositional process in the greatest detail possible through verbal notes and annotated diplomatic transcriptions. The transcriptions (that constitute the half of the volume) offer an especially exciting insight into the genesis of these works. In addition, the edition includes Bartók's analysis of String Quartets Nos. 4 and 5 in the original languages, and his sketch for an unmaterialized seventh quartet.

Copyright © 2017 Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó Ltd.  All rights are reserved. 

About usTerms & Conditions | Technical contact: webmaster­@­

Editio Musica Budapest and EMB are registered trade marks of Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó Kft and are used under Licence.