How can I shop?

Online purchase:

Buy directly from our web-shop via credit/debit card payment. With this method, only publications which we currently have on stock can be purchased.

In-store pickup:

If you prefer not to shop online, you also have the option to order from our website and we will forward your order to one of our partner music shops of your choosing. In this case, you will buy the scores directly from the shop and pay for them there upon pickup.

Your purchase and payment method can be set here.

Sound samples are used by the permission of Hungaroton Records, BMCBBCC and the composers.
Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.

Need help?

If you can't find what you're looking for, please contact our Customer Service Team

Phone: +36 1 2361-104

Email: info­@­

More numbers...

Price: $139.00 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: In stock
Store availability: Available

Liszt Ferenc: Individual Character Pieces II (I/12)

Edited by Sulyok Imre, Mező Imre
Setting: Piano
Series: New Liszt Edition I. 'A'
Genre: Complete Edition
Period: Romantic
Language: English, German
Length: 128 pages
Format: 23 x 30 cm
Published: October 1978
Publisher: Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó
Item number: 6217A
ISMN: 9790080300121
Volume I/11-12 of the New Liszt Edition contains character pieces. The period in which the pieces in volume 12 were written spans a good twenty years, and includes works both sacred and profane in inspiration, as the titles indicate. They are varied in mood and subject, and include funeral music, such as Trübe Wolken, Die Trauer-Gondel Nos. 1-2, the Trauervorspiel und Trauermarsch, the piece Am Grabe Richard Wagners, but also wedding music, the Epithalam, which was written for Ede Reményi's wedding; we can also find the only piece the composer wrote as a joke, entitled Carrousel de Madame P-N. Several pieces in this volume, first published in 1981, appeared here in print for the first time (Vexilla Regis prodeunt, Urbi et orbi).

As far as possible, the pieces are given in chronological order. As customary, there are two versions of the publication: a blue clothbound edition and a grey softcover edition. The preface, which gives the most important information on the contents and technical details, is identical in both versions, but only the former includes an English description of the sources and a critical commentary. Both versions include facsimiles of pages from Liszt's original autograph manuscript.

Works marked by an asterisk in the Contents are published here for the first time in print.

Hungaroton HCD 11976-2


Liszt Ferenc: Vexilla Regis prodeunt *
R. 70 G. 185
Liszt Ferenc: Urbi et orbi *
R. 69 G. 184
Liszt Ferenc: Un portrait en musique
R. 65 G. 190
Liszt Ferenc: Ave Maria (aus den neun Kirchenchorgesängen)
R. 193/b G. 504/2
Liszt Ferenc: Stabat Mater *
R. (478) G. (579)
Liszt Ferenc: Epithalam
R. 189 G. 526
Liszt Ferenc: Impromptu
R. 59 G. 191
Liszt Ferenc: Recueillement
R. 86 G. 204
Liszt Ferenc: Sancta Dorothea
R. 73 G. 187
Carrousel de Madame P-N
R. 60/b G. 214/a
R. 60/a G. 197/a
Resignazione (1. változat - 1st version - 1. Fassung)
R. 388 G. 187/a
In festo transfigurationis Domini
R. 74 G. 188
Romance oubliée - Vergessene Romanze
R. 66/b G. 527
Ave Maria (IV)
R. 194 G. 545
Wiegenlied - Chant du berceau
R. 58 G. 198
Trübe Wolken - Nuages gris
R. 78 G. 199
Die Trauer-Gondel Nr. 1 - La lugubre gondola No. 1
R. 81/I G. 200/1
R. W.- Venezia
R. 82 G. 201
R. 79 G. 203
Am Grabe Richard Wagners
R. 85 G. 202
Die Trauer-Gondel Nr. 2 - La lugubre gondola No. 2
R. 81/II G. 200/2
Trauervorspiel und Trauermarsch
R. 84 G. 206
En reve
R. 87 G. 207
Unstern! - Sinistre
R. 80 G. 208
New Liszt Edition - Series IX. Vocal works with orchestra or with several instruments
Blue cloth-bound volume of the complete edition with preface and critical notes
Voice and piano

Copyright © 2017 Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó Ltd.  All rights are reserved. 

About usTerms & Conditions | Technical contact: webmaster­@­

Editio Musica Budapest and EMB are registered trade marks of Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó Kft and are used under Licence.