Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.

Need help?

If you can't find what you're looking for, please contact our sales team

Phone: +36 1 2361-104

Email: info­@­


We think you are from United States. If not, please select your country.
The country setting is indispensable for showing you valid prices and shipping costs.
Thank you!
If you can't close this box, you probably don't have "cookies" enabled in your browser.
Follow these instructions to enable "cookies" in your browser.
Price: $20.45 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: In stock
Store availability: Available to order

Scarlatti, Domenico: Selected Piano Pieces

Selected and provided with expression marks, fingering and commentaries by Bartók Béla
Setting: Piano
Series: The Bartók Performing Editions
Language: Hungarian, English, German
Length: 48 pages
Published: April 2018
Publisher: Editio Musica Budapest
Item number: 15083
ISMN: 9790080150832
Bartók probably first played pieces by Domenico Scarlatti in public in 1911. During the next two decades he featured them in his piano recitals more than 60 times. His dedication to Italian and French Baroque music is also illustrated by the fact that in 1920, he signed a contract with the Budapest publisher Rozsnyai to edit seven volumes of Baroque keyboard music. His plan was to select compositions by Couperin and Rameau in addition to pieces by Scarlatti, but during the 1920s it ended up being only two volumes of Couperin and another two comprising ten compositions by Scarlatti. In editing these masterpieces, Bartók's aim was primarily to counterbalance or even overshadow the works by the "Mendelssohn-Schumann epigones" used in primary and secondary musical education.

The present single-volume collection comprises Bartók's two Scarlatti volumes, complete with an editorial preface, his detailed performing instructions, and his commentary. The editor recommends these compositions for pianists with at least five years' experience, and give practical recommendations for the grouping of individual items to form charming "sonatina-like" sets of pieces.


Andante pastorale (C major) (L. 2, K. 384)
Allegretto scherzando (C-major) (L. 3, K. 502)
Allegro molto (C major) (L. 5, K. 406)
Allegro risoluto (E minor) (L. 22, K. 198)
Andante (E major) (L. 21, K. 162)
Allegro (B flat major) (L. 141, K. 332)
Molto moderato (A minor) (L. 138, K. 109)
Vivace (A major) (L. 135, K. 212)
Moderato (E flat major) (L. 142, K. 193)
Allegro molto (B flat major) (L. 50, K. 70)
Bartók Transcriptions
Violin and Piano
Violin and Piano
Violins (2)
Viola (more)
Violoncello (more)
Recorder (soprano)
Recorder (alto)
Flute and Piano
Flute and Piano
More Flutes
More Flutes
Oboe and Piano
Oboe and Piano
Clarinet and Piano
Clarinet and Piano
Violin and Piano