This publication was sponsored by the National Cultural Fund of Hungary.

Bartók Béla: Concerto for Orcestra

BB 123 (1943)

score and parts

Edited by Móricz Klára
Setting: Orchestra
Instrumentation: 3 Fl. (3rd doubling Piccolo), 3 Ob (3rd doubling Cor Anglais), 3 Cl. in Bb and A (3rd doubling Bass Clarinet), 3 Bassoons (3rd doubling Double Bassoon), 4 Horns in F, 3 Tr. in C, 2 Tenor Trb., Bass. Trb.,Tuba, Timpani, Side Drum, Bass Drum, Tam-Tam, Cymbals, Triangle, 2 Harps, Strings
Period: 20th Century
Duration: cca 37'
Format: 25,0 x 32,5 cm
Published: January 2021
Publisher: Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó
Item number: 20030
Other reference: BARBEL104
ISMN: 9790080200308
A new orchestra material of Béla Bartók's orchestral highlight, Concerto for Orchestra, composed in 1943 in the United States, is now available on hire. Concerto for Orchestra is the first orchestra material produced from the Béla Bartók Complete Critical Edition (BBCCE), a joint publication of G. Henle Verlag, Munich, and Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó. (The full score in the BBCCE and Henle's study score are also available on sale.)

In preparing this edition, the first edition, all compositional sources as well as the sound recordings made in Bartók's lifetime have been critically evaluated. The orchestra parts were carefully prepared in terms of accuracy, easy legibility, as well as sensible cues and page turns. The parts have been tested by the Hungarian National Philharmonic, a leading orchestra with a unique experience in playing Bartók. The conductor's score and the parts share the same big format (25×32.5 cm), and are printed on superior-quality paper.

One set includes two conductor's scores, 9-8-7-6-5 strings, 4 copies of percussion, and one copy of each of the remaining parts. The material is available on hire at Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest Ltd.

Three versions: critical edition, study score and orchestral material
Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.