Price: $29.95 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: In stock
Store availability: Available
Also available at Amazon

Papp Lajos: Knights' Games for children's string orchestra

score and parts

Setting: String Orchestra
Instrumentation: 3 vl1, 3 vl2, 3 vl3, 2 vlc
Series: Leggierissimo
Genre: Pedagogical performance pieces
Language: Hungarian, English, German, French
Length: 56 pages
Format: 23 x 30,2 cm (Bach)
Weight: 0.204 kg
Published: February 2004
Publisher: Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó
Item number: 14401
ISMN: 9790080144015
Lajos Papp, the author of innumerable popular pedagogical works, this time offers the youngest string players technically really easy little orchestral pieces that can nevertheless be successful concert items for more advanced students. The cycle of eight short pieces can be performed not only as a whole but in any kind of selection or grouping. The title refers both to the medieval knights' tournaments, which always stimulate children's imagination, and also to children's games that imitate them and bring them back to life. The work is based not on a single coherent story but the knights' life in general, with its traditional accoutrements and characters. The titles of the pieces are: Knighting Ceremony in the Castle Chapel - The Lord of the Castle - The Black Knight - The Beautiful Damsel of the Castle, by the Well - Page's Dance - The Scarlet Steed - The Battle of the Noble Knights - Festive Procession.


Knighting Ceremony in the Castle Chapel
The Lord of the Castle
The Lord of the Castle
The Beautiful Damsel of the Castle, by the Well
Pages’ Dance
The Scarlet Steed
The Battle of the Noble Knights
Festive Procession
Modeled on the popular Leggiero series, Leggierissimo was launched with music schools’ youngest string players in mind. In these very easy pieces for string orchestra, a third violin part replaces the viola. Everything is in the first position, so even after just a few years of instrumental study children can experience the pleasure of orchestral playing. Most of the volumes published so far were compiled by András Soós and László Zempléni, partly as composers of original works and arrangements, partly as transcribers of works (mainly for piano) by the greatest masters (Händel, Haydn, Beethoven, Schubert, Tchaikovsky). Every volume appears in the form of a folder, containing both the score and the individual parts.
How can I shop?

Online purchase:

Buy directly from our web-shop via credit/debit card payment. With this method, only publications which we currently have on stock can be purchased.

In-store pickup:

If you prefer not to shop online, you also have the option to order from our website and we will forward your order to one of our partner music shops of your choosing. In this case, you will buy the scores directly from the shop and pay for them there upon pickup.

Your purchase and payment method can be set here.

Sound samples are used by the permission of Hungaroton Records, BMCBBCC and the composers.
Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.