Wie können wir etwas kaufen?


Sie können Noten unmittelbar aus unserem Web-Shop durch Zahlung mit der Kreditkarte, oder per Nachnahme kaufen, allerdings können Sie so nur solche Ausgaben sofort kaufen, welche gerade verfügbar sind.


Persönliche Übernahme im Geschäft:

Wir geben Ihnen die Möglichkeit Ihre Bestellung über unsere Website in einen von Ihnen ausgewählten, herkömmlichen Musikalienhandel zu schicken. In diesem Fall werden Sie Kunde des jeweiligen Geschäftes, können Ihre Bestellung dort entgegennehmen und müssen dort zahlen.


Die Art des Kaufs und der Zahlung können Sie hier einstellen.

Kopierverbot für Musiknoten
Bitte beachten Sie, dass das Fotokopieren von geschütztem Notenmaterial verboten ist und nur mit Zustimmung des Rechteinhabers erfolgen darf.
Durch das Fotokopieren wird dem Komponisten/Autor seine ihm zustehende Entlohnung für sein geistiges Eigentum vorenthalten.
Haben Sie eine Frage?

Unser Expertenteam steht Ihnen von Montag bis Freitag zur Verfügung:

Email: info­@­emb.hu

Tel: +36 1 2361-104

Mehr Kontakt...

Preis: $139.00 (exkl. MWSt.)
Online Verfügbarkeit: Sofort lieferbar
Bei Übernahme im Musikgeschäft: Lieferbar

Liszt Ferenc: Sardanapalo, atto primo (Fragment)

Franz Liszt, Neue Ausgabe sämtlicher Werke, Serie IX (Vokalwerke mit Orchester oder mit mehreren Instrumenten), Bd. 2

Libretto rekonstruiert von Beghelli, Marco (with Francesca Vella and David Rosen)
Herausgegeben von Trippett, David
Besetzung: Singstimme mit Klavier
Reihe: Neue Liszt-Ausgabe
Gattung: Gesamtausgabe
Periode: Romantik
Sprache: ungarisch, englisch, deutsch
Anzahl der Seiten: 180 Seiten
Format: 23 x 30 cm
Erscheinungsjahr: Dezember 2019
Verlag: Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó
Artikelnummer: 20017A
ISMN: 9790080200179

In 1845 Franz Liszt embarked on a project to compose an Italian opera based on Lord Byron’s tragedy, Sardanapalus (1821). It was central to his ambition to attain status as a major European composer, with premieres variously planned for Milan, Vienna, Paris and London. But he abandoned it half way through, and the music he completed has lain silently for 170 years.

Liszt’s difficulty in obtaining a libretto meant that composition only began in April 1850. He completed virtually all the music for Act 1 in an annotated piano-vocal score of 111 pages, contained within his N4 music ‘sketch book’. The unnamed librettist was an Italian poet and political prisoner, seemingly living under house arrest, and a close acquaintance of Cristina Belgiojoso. His libretto survives as underlay in the N4 sketchbook and has been critically reconstructed and translated.

Sardanapalo is Liszt’s only mature opera. While he consistently referred to it in French, as Sardanapale, the published title of the Italian opera would almost certainly have used the Italian name, hence this forms the title of the first edition. There are three solo roles and a chorus of concubines. The manuscript was previously thought to be fragmentary and partially illegible, but it was finally deciphered to international acclaim in March 2017. Liszt’s score offers a richly melodic style, with elements from Bellini and Verdi alongside glimmers of Wagner and the symphonic poems ahead: a unique mixture of Italianate pastiche and mid-century harmonic innovation. It remains quintessentially Lisztian.

The opera sets Byron’s tragedy about war and peace in ancient Assyria: the last King, effeminate in his tastes, is drawn to wine, concubines and feasts more than politics and war; his subjects find him dishonourable (a ‘man queen’) and military rebels seek to overthrow him, but are pardoned, for the King rejects the ‘deceit of glory’ built on others’ suffering; this leads only to a larger uprising, the Euphrates floods its banks, destroying the castle’s main defensive wall, and defeat is inevitable; the King sends his family away and orders that he be burned alive with his lover, amid scents and spices in a grand inferno. As Byron put it: ‘not a mere pillar formed of cloud and flame, but a light to lessen ages.’ For his part, Liszt told a friend that his finale ‘will even aim to set fire to the entire audience!’

This critical edition includes a detailed study on the genesis of Liszt’s Sardanapalo in English, German, and Hungarian, the libretto in the original Italian as well as in English, German, and Hungarian translation, several facsimile pages of Liszt’s manuscript, and a detailed Critical Report.

New Liszt Edition, Series III: Works and arrangements for piano duet and two pianos
Klaviere - zwei
New Liszt Edition, Series IX: Vocal works with orchestra or with several instruments
Blue cloth-bound volume of the complete edition with preface and critical notes
Singstimme mit Klavier

Copyright © 2017 Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó Ltd.  All rights are reserved. 

About usTerms & Conditions | Technical contact: webmaster­@­emb.hu

Editio Musica Budapest and EMB are registered trade marks of Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó Kft and are used under Licence.