Price: $25.95 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: In stock
Store availability: Available
Also available at Amazon

Hidas Frigyes: Concerto for Oboe and Orchestra

piano score

Setting: Oboe and Piano
Period: 20th Century
Language: Hungarian
Length: 68 pages
Format: A/4
Weight: 0.208 kg
Published: 1955
Publisher: Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest
Item number: 1852
ISMN: 9790080018521
It’s quite rare when a composer’s diploma work becomes a successful, popular piece even after 70 years. Frigyes Hidas’ (1928╩2007) Oboe Concerto, written in 1951, is a work that Péter Pongrácz, Lajos Lencsés, and many other Hungarian and foreign oboists gladly add to their concert programs. It is difficult to pinpoint exactly what stylistic conventions helped to form the musical language of the Oboe Concerto: the three-movement form is suggestive of Viennese Classicism, and Hungarian motifs of the era can also be detected here and there. However, the main influences can be felt from the Neoclassicism of the 1920s and 1930s, the Baroque era, and the French woodwind school. As with all of his musical creations, Hidas demonstrates here that he is a master of instrumental knowledge, consideration towards his works’ performers, and tasteful moderation.

This publication is printed on high-quality, age-resistant, pale-yellow paper that is produced in an environmentally-friendly, climate-neutral manner using renewable raw materials.

How can I shop?

Online purchase:

Buy directly from our web-shop via credit/debit card payment. With this method, only publications which we currently have on stock can be purchased.

In-store pickup:

If you prefer not to shop online, you also have the option to order from our website and we will forward your order to one of our partner music shops of your choosing. In this case, you will buy the scores directly from the shop and pay for them there upon pickup.

Your purchase and payment method can be set here.

Sound samples are used by the permission of Hungaroton Records, BMCBBCC and the composers.
Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.