Price: $19.95 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: In stock
Store availability: Available
Also available at Amazon

Solti Árpád: Sonatina

for four timpani

playing score

Setting: Timpani
Series: EMB Contemporary Music
Genre: Contemporary Hungarian Works
Period: Contemporary Music
Language: Hungarian, English
Duration: 7'
Length: 12 pages
Format: 23 x 30,2 cm (Bach)
Published: March 2018
Publisher: Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest
Item number: 15085
ISMN: 9790080150856
Árpád Solti (born 1986) studied with Zoltán Jeney and Gyula Fekete at the Budapest Academy of Music, where he also studied piano and percussion. He has pursued advanced studies in Bruxelles and Gothenburg. His works - which range from solo pieces through chamber music and the award-winning orchestral composition Aktok [Nudes], which was premiered in 2011 at the New Hungarian Musical Forum's composers' competition - have been programmed featuring prominent Hungarian performers as well as the conductors Chelsea Tipton and Michael Francis and the Norrköping Symphony Orchestra.

Solti composed the Sonatina between 2006 and 2008. The piece has since been added to the compulsory curriculum for percussion students at the Budapest Academy of Music. These pieces for four timpani show classical forms blended with the energetic musical language characteristic of Árpád Solti. The first, Rondino movement demands highly precise pedal work. It is followed by a meditative Intermezzo requiring discipline and depth on the part of the performer. The final Toccata presents percussionists with an excellent opportunity to let their technical skills shine brightly.


How can I shop?

Online purchase:

Buy directly from our web-shop via credit/debit card payment. With this method, only publications which we currently have on stock can be purchased.

In-store pickup:

If you prefer not to shop online, you also have the option to order from our website and we will forward your order to one of our partner music shops of your choosing. In this case, you will buy the scores directly from the shop and pay for them there upon pickup.

Your purchase and payment method can be set here.

Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.