How can I shop?

Online purchase:

Buy directly from our web-shop via credit/debit card payment. With this method, only publications which we currently have on stock can be purchased.

In-store pickup:

If you prefer not to shop online, you also have the option to order from our website and we will forward your order to one of our partner music shops of your choosing. In this case, you will buy the scores directly from the shop and pay for them there upon pickup.

Your purchase and payment method can be set here.

Sound samples are used by the permission of Hungaroton Records, BMCBBCC and the composers.
Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.

Need help?

If you can't find what you're looking for, please contact our Customer Service Team

Phone: +36 1 2361-104

Email: info­@­

More numbers...

Price: $29.95 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: In stock
Store availability: Available

Orbán György: Aulos II

Piano Pieces for Advanced Players to Practise Poliphony

Setting: Piano
Genre: Pedagogical performance pieces
Period: Contemporary Music
Language: Hungarian, English
Length: 80 pages
Format: K/4 (23,5x31)
Weight: 0.344 kg
Published: March 2014
Publisher: Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó
Item number: 14888
ISMN: 9790080148884
Aulos to a certain degree continues Orbán's easy piano pieces for children, which he composed for Ágnes Lakos's piano tutor and which Editio Musica Budapest published in a separate volume entitled Enchanted Forest in 2011 (Z. 14742). Yet on this occasion the composer took on something which was both significantly different and more than his earlier pieces for children. On the one hand, he did not compose for beginners but for more advanced students who have studied piano for at least three years. On the other, he did not set developing the technique of piano playing as an aim, rather a systematic presentation of different polyphonic genres and compositional procedures (imitation, fugue, stretto, inversion, augmentation and diminution, double counterpoint, latent polyphony, double and triple fugue, cantus firmus technique, etc.). Orbán introduces his students to the mysteries of polyphony in a direct and practical manner, and thus actually makes them familiar with the art of composition.

The educational use of the series is significantly increased by the fact that before each piece the composer presents and clarifies with demonstrative illustrations the polyphonic procedure he introduces. Orbán's explanations are not text-book-like at all, but are deliberately personal and subjective, full of lessons and individual associations taken from his practice as a composer. They were written in the same spirit as the works themselves - while they perfectly fulfil their educational purpose they are equally individual, witty and inspired pieces of music that are a joy to play.


Prelude in D-flat major (regular - irregular)
Fugue in D-flat major (proposta - riposta (or dialogue in the fugue))
Prelude in B-flat minor (complementary rhythm)
Capriccio in B-flat major (complementary rhythm with a collision)
A walk (...when the bellissima Donna Cambiata...) (syncopation 2)
...the brief biography of a river (flowing polyphony)
Landscape in three versions - Landscape dreaming in the sun
Landscape in three versions - Landscape shivering in winter
Landscape in three versions - ...and as the fog lifts
Homeward bound through the forest ('My home in the mountains...') (in the density of part-writing)
Prelude in A-flat major (figurations: polyphony's labourers)
Fugue in A-flat major ('duel' of the subjects)
Triple fugue in B-flat major (triple counterpoint)
Chorale in three versions - Etude 'Harp' (the 'ancient hymn')
Chorale in three versions - Fughetta super 'Nun komm, der Heiden Heiland' (J.(ohann) S.(ebastian), meine Freude)
Chorale in three versions - Hymn at the frontier ('Give us peace, Lord')
Appendix - 8b In winter solitude
Pedagogical Performance Pieces for Piano by György Orbán

Copyright © 2017 Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó Ltd.  All rights are reserved. 

About usTerms & Conditions | Technical contact: webmaster­@­

Editio Musica Budapest and EMB are registered trade marks of Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó Kft and are used under Licence.