Price: $7.95 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: In stock
Store availability: Available
Also available at Amazon

Kurtág György: Aus der Ferne III

for string quartet

playing score

Setting: String Quartet
Genre: Contemporary Hungarian Works
Period: Contemporary Music
Length: 4 pages
Format: A/4
Publisher: Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest
Item number: 14100
ISMN: 9790080141007
Aus der Ferne III is a short piece written in 1991 for the 90th birthday of Alfred Schlee, the emblematic director of the Viennese publishing house Universal Edition. The cycle of five pieces Aus der Ferne thus unfolds over more than fifteen years: Aus der Ferne n° 1 and 2 for piano were written for Schlee's 80th and 85th birthdays (Játékok V), piece n° 4 for his 95th birthday (Játékok VII), while that the 5th and last piece is indicated in memoriam (for sttring quartet, unpublished). "From the distance" come the tenuous sounds of the violins and the viola; the cello should sound like a kettledrum. The title, a fairly common musical indication in romantic music ("wie aus der Ferne": "like from afar"), could also come from the beginning of this poem by Hölderlin: Wenn aus der Ferne, da wir geschieden sind, / Ich dir noch kennbar bin, die Vergangenheit / O du Teilhaber meiner Leiden! (If from afar, as we are divorced, / I am still recognizable to you, the past, / O you who share my sufferings!) (Grégoire Tosser)
How can I shop?

Online purchase:

Buy directly from our web-shop via credit/debit card payment. With this method, only publications which we currently have on stock can be purchased.

In-store pickup:

If you prefer not to shop online, you also have the option to order from our website and we will forward your order to one of our partner music shops of your choosing. In this case, you will buy the scores directly from the shop and pay for them there upon pickup.

Your purchase and payment method can be set here.

Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.