How can I shop?

Online purchase:

Buy directly from our web-shop via credit/debit card payment. With this method, only publications which we currently have on stock can be purchased.

In-store pickup:

If you prefer not to shop online, you also have the option to order from our website and we will forward your order to one of our partner music shops of your choosing. In this case, you will buy the scores directly from the shop and pay for them there upon pickup.

Your purchase and payment method can be set here.

Sound samples are used by the permission of Hungaroton Records, BMCBBCC and the composers.
Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.

Need help?

If you can't find what you're looking for, please contact our sales team

Phone:+386 31 428 189

Email: info­@­

Phone: +36 1 2361-104

Email: info­@­

More numbers...

Cena: $16.45 (Brez DDV)
Online availability: In stock
Store availability: Available

Tihanyi László: Attis for violin solo


Zasedba: Violin
Jezik: Hungarian, English
Trajanje: 11'
Število strani: 8 strani
Format: A/4
Weight: 0.039 kg
Leto izdaje: 1997
Založba: Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest
Številka artikla: 14099
Založniška številka: D14099
ISMN: 9790080140994
The piece was composed at the request of violinist Eszter Perényi, my colleague at the Ferenc Liszt Academy of Music, and was several times amond the optional pieces of the yearly violin competition for students. It was inspired by the famous 63rd poem of Catullus that tells the story of Attis: the hero of the Greek mythology arrives at the Mount Ida in Frygia, to the invitation of the goddess Cybele, and becomes her lover. The Gallas, certitude priests of Cybele chase him into delirious dance, by the end of which he castrates himself. On waking from his paralysed dream he entreats in vain for his virility and freedom to Cybele, he will remain servant of the goddess for eternity. My work tells the story in four parts: 1) Attis' ecstasy 2) Dance of the Gallas 3) Attis' dream 4) Attis' entreaty. The Catullian galliambic metric that first appears in the 'prologue' of the piece, becomes the organisational principle of almost all musical aspects of it. (Hungaroton HCD 32484)
Copyright © 2017 Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó Ltd.
All rights are reserved. Terms & Conditions. Technical contact: webmaster­@­

Editio Musica Budapest and EMB are registered trade marks of Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó Kft and are used under Licence.