How can I shop?

Online purchase:

Buy directly from our web-shop via credit/debit card payment. With this method, only publications which we currently have on stock can be purchased.

In-store pickup:

If you prefer not to shop online, you also have the option to order from our website and we will forward your order to one of our partner music shops of your choosing. In this case, you will buy the scores directly from the shop and pay for them there upon pickup.

Your purchase and payment method can be set here.

Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.

Need help?

If you can't find what you're looking for, please contact our Customer Service Team

Phone: +36 1 2361-104

Email: info­@­

More numbers...

Rights & Rental:

Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó Ltd.

Price: $7.35 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: In stock
Store availability: Available

Bartók Béla: Andante

Setting: Piano
Period: 20th Century
Grade: 2-4
Length: 7 pages
Weight: 0.06 kg
Publisher: Universal Edition
Item number: UE31442
ISMN: 9790008061776
Two manuscripts of the "Suite", Op. 14 are held in the archive of Peter Bartók, in Florida. One of these is the autograph sketch of the work (without dynamic signs), the other is a hand written copy prepared by Márta Ziegler, Bartók's first wife, with amendments by Bartók. This latter was the engraving copy of the work; (”) The "Andante" can be found in both American manuscripts of the "Suite". What could have induced the composer to omit it from the work's final version? Before we can provide an answer, let us first examine the entire cycle (in its final form). Each of its movements - not unlike two hundred years earlier, in the baroque suites - evolves out of the basic formula of a stylized dance. In the first movement Bartók combines the throb of the baroque concertos with the rhythm of the Hungarian swineherd's dance. The following fast movement: scherzo, in the Beethovenian meaning of the word; even its tetrapodic segmentation is reminiscent of the scherzo of the "9th Symphony". The next fast movement is a characteristic Bartókian type of motion: a chase (as such, it forecasts the mood of certain scenes in the "Miraculous Mandarin"and "Cantata Profana"). After the three fast movements the scene suddenly changes: a heartbreaking slow dance movement is heard. This enormous contrast of moods is incredibly effective, particularly as it is coupled also with the finale-function: the work concludes with this slow movement. In order to preserve this effect, the composer had to forego the other slow movement. From the point of view of dramaturgy Bartók's decision was entirely correct in settling on the four movement format. The omitted "Andante", however, still deserves posterity's attention.