Kárpáti János: András Szőllősy

Hungarian Composers 4


Period: 20th Century
Language: English
Length: 32 pages
Published: 1999
Publisher: Mágus Kiadó
Item number: MZ04EN
ISMN: 9789638278579
András Szőllősy (b. 1921) was one of the first Hungarian composers to break with orthodoxy and fashion to create new, exciting, colourful contemporary music.

Concerto III, which won first prize at the International Rostrum of Composers in Paris in 1970, signposted the road that would lead him to a place as one of the three stars in the constellation of contemporary Hungarian music: Kurtág, Ligeti and Szőllősy.In this volume of the “Hungarian Composers” series, the author gives us new insights into the personality and invention of the composers of large-scale orchestral works (Transfigurazioni, Musica per orchestra), vocal works for Britain’s King’s Singers (Fabula Phaedri and Miserere), and a chamber music masterpiece, the string quartet for Holland’s Orlando Quartet. A list of works, bibliography and a selection of Szőllősy’s writing on music, make for a revealing complement to the analysis of his oeuvre.

How can I shop?

Online purchase:

Buy directly from our web-shop via credit/debit card payment. With this method, only publications which we currently have on stock can be purchased.

In-store pickup:

If you prefer not to shop online, you also have the option to order from our website and we will forward your order to one of our partner music shops of your choosing. In this case, you will buy the scores directly from the shop and pay for them there upon pickup.

Your purchase and payment method can be set here.