Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.

Need help?

If you can't find what you're looking for, please contact our sales team

Phone: +36 1 2361-104

Email: info­@­


We think you are from United States. If not, please select your country.
The country setting is indispensable for showing you valid prices and shipping costs.
Thank you!
If you can't close this box, you probably don't have "cookies" enabled in your browser.
Follow these instructions to enable "cookies" in your browser.
Price: $34.95 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: In stock
Store availability: Available to order

Dobszay László: The World of Tones Part I

Introduction to Music Literature

Setting: Solfege
Genre: Solfeggio, music theory, pedagogy
Language: English
Length: 104 pages
Published: April 2011
Publisher: Kecskeméti Kodály Intézet
Item number: KI38
ISMN: 9789637295386
This two-volumes edition (KI38 and KI39) contains the teacher's manuals to Volumes IV-VI of the solfege book series. All the assignments and remarks of the pupil's books are also inserted. The first three volumes, mostly based on Hungarian folksongs, are summarised in the introduction.

Kodály said that the main essence of solfege is 'music appreciation made conscious by musicianship training'. 'The culminating element of solfege is the control of the grammar and syntax of music.' Dobszay's series grew out of these ideas.

The carefully selected material is especially suitable to present the characteristic features of Viennese Classicism and the Baroque. The Hungarian Student's Books are to be used with the English manual.


Introductory notes to volumes I-II-III by Marianna Spiegel
Teacher's Book and Instructions to Volume IV