How can I shop?

Online purchase:

Buy directly from our web-shop via credit/debit card payment. With this method, only publications which we currently have on stock can be purchased.

In-store pickup:

If you prefer not to shop online, you also have the option to order from our website and we will forward your order to one of our partner music shops of your choosing. In this case, you will buy the scores directly from the shop and pay for them there upon pickup.

Your purchase and payment method can be set here.

Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.

Need help?

If you can't find what you're looking for, please contact our Customer Service Team

Phone: +36 1 2361-104

Email: info­@­

More numbers...

Rights & Rental:

Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó Ltd.

Price: $27.30 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: Print-on-demand
Store availability: Print-on-demand

Bach, Johann Sebastian: Complete Organ Works - Urtext 1

Preludes and Fugues I

Edited by Schulenberg, David
Setting: Organ
Series: Johann Sebastian Bach Complete Organ Works
Period: Baroque
Length: 140 pages
Publisher: Breitkopf & Härtel
Item number: EB8801
ISMN: 9790004183724
In his Preludes and Fugues, Johann Sebastian Bach made decisive contributions to the development of this genre tradition. The importance of this work group in his own organ oeuvre is confirmed by the many transmitted sources: hardly any autographs, but all the more copies. The genesis of the works and the question of versions associated with it are described at length in the Introduction.

In his new edition, editor David Schulenberg occasionally makes a new evaluation of the transmitted sources. To do so, he based himself as faithfully as possible on the manuscripts that can be traced back to Bach or to his circle. Here the American Bach expert generally chooses one source as his principal one. Divergences from other sources are documented in the Commentary. On the whole, the new Urtext edition sometimes also emends some long-cherished readings of ornaments, voice leading and notation. This volume presents also the early version of the C major Prelude BWV 545 as well as the inserted Trio movement of the three-movement version of this work.

Two further versions, which are also related to the Prelude and Fugue BWV 545, are available online.


Prelude in C major BWV 531
Prelude and Fugue in C major BWV 545
Trio BWV 529/2
Prelude in C major early version BWV 545a/1
Prelude and Fugue in C major BWV 547
Prelude in C major BWV 566
Prelude in E major BWV 566
Prelude and Fugue in C minor BWV 546
Prelude in C minor BWV 549
Prelude in D mino BWV 549a
Prelude and Fugue in D major BWV 532
Appendix: Fugue in D major BWV 532/2a
Fuga in C BWV 545a/2 early version (online)
Prelude in B BWV 545b variant (online)