Sound samples are used by the permission of Hungaroton Records, BMCBBCC and the composers.
Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.

Need help?

If you can't find what you're looking for, please contact our Customer Service Team

Phone: +36 1 2361-104

Email: info­@­

More numbers...

Rights & Rental:

Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó Ltd.

Eötvös Péter: Windsequenzen - Sequences of the Wind (1975-2002)

score and parts

Setting: Chamber Orchestra
Instrumentation: 1,1, 3(III=cl.b.), - tu - arm, 3 batt. - cb.
Genre: Contemporary Hungarian Works
Duration: 29'
Publisher: Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest
Item number: E-6
Other reference: 12954
In 1970 Péter Eötvös spent half a year in Japan where he performed as a member of Karlheinz Stockhausen's ensemble in the German pavilion at the World Expo in Osaka. The encounter with Japanese culture, specifically with Zen Buddhism, had a great effect on him. The fundamental idea of The Sequences of the Wind is one of Zen's complementary contrasts: stillness in movement - movement in stillness. It was inspired by the Japanese landscape and Japanese gardens (the rain, the wind, the sound of stones and the rustle of bamboo cane). This is the third version of the work and was published to mark the 60th birthday of Péter Eötvös. (The composer withdrew the first two versions written in 1975 and 1989.) Several elements of modern flute playing appear in the work, which has eight movements at present. The soloist alternately plays four different instruments (a flute of normal tone, a flute that is tuned a quarter tone lower, an alto flute tuned a quarter tone lower and a piccolo).

The score is also available on sale (Z.12954)


Windstille I
Drei Sequenzen des Bergwindes
Sieben Sequenzen des Wirbelwindes
Sequenz des Morgenwindes
Vier Sequenzen des Seewindes - Nordwind
Vier Sequenzen des Seewindes - Südwind
Ost - Westwind
Windstille II
Copyright © 2005-2021 Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó Ltd.
All rights are reserved. Terms & Conditions. Technical contact: webmaster­@­

"Editio Musica Budapest and EMB are registered trade marks of Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó Kft and are used under Licence."