Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.

Need help?

If you can't find what you're looking for, please contact our sales team

Phone: +36 1 2361-104

Email: info­@­


We think you are from United States. If not, please select your country.
The country setting is indispensable for showing you valid prices and shipping costs.
Thank you!
If you can't close this box, you probably don't have "cookies" enabled in your browser.
Follow these instructions to enable "cookies" in your browser.

Music for Beginners


Setting: Catalogue
Length: 4 pages
Published: April 2015
Publisher: Editio Musica Budapest
Item number: 80166
ISMN: 9790080801666
Music for Beginners was launched in the summer of 1969. The aim was to compile a varied and high-standard repertoire covering music from the earliest centuries to contemporary compositions for music school students to be played in the first 3-4 years of instrument learning. The series has proved extremely successful as is indicated by the fact that 55 volumes have been published. The popularity of Music for Beginners has not diminished in recent years, and there is demand for the majority of volumes in Hungary and abroad. The secret of the series' success lies primarily in the selection of compositions. The contents of all volumes have been compiled by accomplished music teachers choosing high-standard works that can easily be played by the given instrument. Outstanding Hungarian composers have also been asked to write new pieces.

The volumes in the Music for Beginners series currently include all the instruments taught in music schools. Moreover, they have been published for various chamber music settings as well. The value of the series is increased by the unique, attractive illustrations of János Kass. They not only appear on the volume covers but are sometimes also featured in the scores.

The renewal of Music for Beginners started on the occasion of the series' 45th birthday. Yet only the appearance is changing, not the contents. The volumes are receiving new covers preserving János Kass drawings. Within the series three groups have been formed that are differentiated by the color of the covers: volumes for solo instruments (with or without piano accompaniment) are red, those for duos of the same instruments are green, and blue signifies chamber music for different instruments. Certain volume titles have also been changed so that they reflect the multiple scoring options of the pieces included. On the following pages all scoring options are indicated at each volume.