How can I shop?

Online purchase:

Buy directly from our web-shop via credit/debit card payment. With this method, only publications which we currently have on stock can be purchased.

In-store pickup:

If you prefer not to shop online, you also have the option to order from our website and we will forward your order to one of our partner music shops of your choosing. In this case, you will buy the scores directly from the shop and pay for them there upon pickup.

Your purchase and payment method can be set here.

Sound samples are used by the permission of Hungaroton Records, BMCBBCC and the composers.
Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.

Need help?

If you can't find what you're looking for, please contact our Customer Service Team

Phone: +36 1 2361-104

Email: info­@­

More numbers...

Rights & Rental:

Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó Ltd.

Print on Demand
This item may be available on demand.
Price: $11.45 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: In stock (some copies)
Store availability: Available to order

Bartók Béla: Marche funebre

Setting: Piano
Period: 20th Century
Length: 4 pages
Format: A/4
Published: November 1976
Publisher: Editio Musica Budapest
Item number: 7995
ISMN: 9790080079959
'The Marche funebre is a piano transcription of the concluding part of the symphonic poem Kossuth composed in summer 1903. The snappy rhythmic motif of the dramatic introduction bore the inscription 'Danger threatens the fatherland' in the score. After it, we hear the tragic funeral-verbunk form of the Kossuth theme, over a heroic ostinato accompaniment reminiscent of late Liszt. Contrasting with this, there follows an exciting sequential treatment of the 'valiant heroes' theme, and this peters out to the Hungarian-style runs that had previously appeared in the 'Danger threatens the fatherland' motivic group. Finally, during the resigned conclusion of the piece (X. 'A hopeless silence reigns'), the Kossuth theme disintegrates into its various motifs, as if 'dying'.'
(HCD 32524 Bartók New Series Vol. 24, István G. Németh)
Territorial restrictions may apply. Please ask before ordering.