Price: $13.95 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: In stock
Store availability: Available

Kurtág György: Eight Duos for violin and cimbalom

Op. 4
Setting: Mixed Chamber Duo
Genre: Contemporary Hungarian Works
Length: 12 pages
Format: A/4
Weight: 0.059 kg
Published: 1965
Publisher: Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest
Item number: 4492
ISMN: 9790080044926
Among the early miniatures of Kurtág Eight Duos Op. 4, show a new departure in instrumentation: the combination of violin and cimbalom, two instruments that were to play an important role in Kurtág's later works, but it was in these duos that he purported to have captured the "essence" or the cimbalom. He did not write for it in the traditional Hungarian manner but in a way reminiscent of Webern's short studies. In these duos one becomes increasingly aware of the characteristic "soundscape" of Kurtág: his use of trills, muted tremolos, percussive sounds, ostinato techniques - all indicate that a new musical language is being developed.


Poco sostenuto
Agitato, non allegro
. Lento
How can I shop?

Online purchase:

Buy directly from our web-shop via credit/debit card payment. With this method, only publications which we currently have on stock can be purchased.

In-store pickup:

If you prefer not to shop online, you also have the option to order from our website and we will forward your order to one of our partner music shops of your choosing. In this case, you will buy the scores directly from the shop and pay for them there upon pickup.

Your purchase and payment method can be set here.

Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.