Price: $14.45 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: In stock
Store availability: Available
Also available at Amazon

Bartók Béla: Dances of Transylvania

pocket score

Setting: Orchestra
Series: EMB Study Scores (pocket scores)
Period: 20th Century
Language: Hungarian, English, German
Duration: 5'
Length: 28 pages
Format: 14 x 20 cm (A/5)
Weight: 0.047 kg
Published: 1985
Publisher: Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó
Item number: 40071
Other reference: B-11
ISMN: 9790080400715
'Dances of Transylvania is the orchestral version of 'Sonatina' (1915). In Sonatina, Bartók had arranged Romanian instrumental (chiefly bagpipe) music. The three movements of the work, 'Bagpipers', 'Bear Dance' and 'Finale' comprise five melodies. Bartók explained that each of the two melodies of the first movement had been played by two pipers, the second by a peasant violinist using the lower strings of the instrument to reproduce the sounds of a bear, and the two melodies of the 'Finale' again by two violinists. In the orchestral version Bartók was out to reproduce the original sonority created by the peasants.'
(HCD 32505 Bartók New Series Vol. 5, Virág Büky)
How can I shop?

Online purchase:

Buy directly from our web-shop via credit/debit card payment. With this method, only publications which we currently have on stock can be purchased.

In-store pickup:

If you prefer not to shop online, you also have the option to order from our website and we will forward your order to one of our partner music shops of your choosing. In this case, you will buy the scores directly from the shop and pay for them there upon pickup.

Your purchase and payment method can be set here.

Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.