How can I shop?

Online purchase:

Buy directly from our web-shop via credit/debit card payment. With this method, only publications which we currently have on stock can be purchased.

In-store pickup:

If you prefer not to shop online, you also have the option to order from our website and we will forward your order to one of our partner music shops of your choosing. In this case, you will buy the scores directly from the shop and pay for them there upon pickup.

Your purchase and payment method can be set here.

Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.

Need help?

If you can't find what you're looking for, please contact our Customer Service Team

Phone: +36 1 2361-104

Email: info­@­

More numbers...

Rights & Rental:

Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó Ltd.

Price: $2.00 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: In stock
Store availability: Available to order

Debussy, Claude: Trois nocturnes

pocket score

Edited by Darvas Gábor
Setting: Voice and orchestra
Series: EMB Study Scores (pocket scores)
Period: Romantic
Duration: 24'
Length: 176 pages
Format: A/5 (14,2x20)
Published: 1984
Publisher: Editio Musica Budapest
Item number: 40045
Other reference: D-50
ISMN: 9790080400456
The plan for the three orchestral Nocturnes took a long time to mature: Debussy first alluded to them as 'Three evening scenes' in a letter dated September 1892. Two years later the work was already referred to as a concerto, which would have been written for the renowned violinist, Ysaye. In the end, however, it was the original idea which meterialised. According to notes on the composer's manusript the detailed elaboration of the Nocturnes took two years: 'Composé de décembre 1897 á décembre 1899'. Only the first two movements were played at the first performance in Paris on 9th December 1900. The complete work was performed on 27th October 1901. Although the full score appeared in print as early as 1900, Debussy made a number of substantial changes in the orchestration during the years that followed, only the much later, in 1930 published version may be regarded as the final one which forms the basis of the present edition.