Price: $15.95 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: In stock
Store availability: Available
Also available at Amazon

Beethoven, Ludwig van: Symphony No. 6 in F major

"Sinfonia pastorale"

pocket score

Op. 68
Edited by Darvas Gábor
Setting: Symphony Orchestra
Series: EMB Study Scores (pocket scores)
Period: Classic
Length: 160 pages
Format: 14 x 20 cm (A/5)
Weight: 0.2 kg
Published: 1981
Publisher: Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó
Item number: 40020
ISMN: 9790080400203
The symphony was first performed together with Symphony No. 5 (in C minor) at a concert given from Beethoven's works in the Theater an der Wien on the 22nd December 1808. Both symphonies were namely completed at the same time. This accounts for the fact that their number got mixed up on the printed programme of the concert. The parts which appeared in 1809 as well as the opus numbers (67-68) contain already the final sequence. The full title of the symphony reads as indicated in a letter of the composer to his publisher: 'Pastoral-Sinfonie oder Erinnerung an das Landleben, mehr Ausdruck der Empfindung als Malerei.' (Symphony pastoral or remembrance of country life, an expression of emotions rather than painting.) The titles of the movements which were given their ultimate form after long meditation on the part of Beethoven appeared in the printed violin part. The symphony is dedicated to the Prince Lobkowitz and Count Rasumowsky. The present edition is based on the above mentioned parts as well as the score which came out in print in the composer's lifetime yet, i.e. in 1825. Apart from these sources other, early editions have also been taken into consideration.
How can I shop?

Online purchase:

Buy directly from our web-shop via credit/debit card payment. With this method, only publications which we currently have on stock can be purchased.

In-store pickup:

If you prefer not to shop online, you also have the option to order from our website and we will forward your order to one of our partner music shops of your choosing. In this case, you will buy the scores directly from the shop and pay for them there upon pickup.

Your purchase and payment method can be set here.

Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.