Price: $12.95 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: In stock
Store availability: Available
Also available at Amazon

Beethoven, Ludwig van: Symphony No. 3 in E- flat major


pocket score

Op. 55
Edited by Darvas Gábor
Setting: Symphony Orchestra
Series: EMB Study Scores (pocket scores)
Period: Classic
Length: 128 pages
Format: 14 x 20 cm (A/5)
Published: 1980
Publisher: Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó
Item number: 40005
ISMN: 9790080400050
The original manuscript of the work has been lost, but a copy with corrections in the composer's hand, dating presumably from 1804, has come down to us. Beethoven added the following comment on the title page: 'geschrieben auf Bonaparte', which lends authenticity to the familiar story that oroginally the composer had named the symphony after Napoleon Bonaparte, but when he learnt that the revolutionary whom he idolized had let himself crown emperor, he tore off the cover page of the score in disillusion and rage, and changed both its title and dedication in the following way: 'Sinfonia EROICA, composta per festeggiare il sovvenire d'un grand' uomo, e dedicata a Sua Altezza Serenissima il Principe di Lobkowitz.'
How can I shop?

Online purchase:

Buy directly from our web-shop via credit/debit card payment. With this method, only publications which we currently have on stock can be purchased.

In-store pickup:

If you prefer not to shop online, you also have the option to order from our website and we will forward your order to one of our partner music shops of your choosing. In this case, you will buy the scores directly from the shop and pay for them there upon pickup.

Your purchase and payment method can be set here.

Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.