How can I shop?

Online purchase:

Buy directly from our web-shop via credit/debit card payment. With this method, only publications which we currently have on stock can be purchased.

In-store pickup:

If you prefer not to shop online, you also have the option to order from our website and we will forward your order to one of our partner music shops of your choosing. In this case, you will buy the scores directly from the shop and pay for them there upon pickup.

Your purchase and payment method can be set here.

Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.

Need help?

If you can't find what you're looking for, please contact our Customer Service Team

Phone: +36 1 2361-104

Email: info­@­

More numbers...

Rights & Rental:

Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó Ltd.

Price: $29.45 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: In stock (some copies)
Store availability: Available

Bartók Béla: String Quartet No. 1


Op. 7
Revised by Dille, Denijs
Setting: String Quartet
Period: 20th Century
Length: 48 pages
Format: Bach (23 x 30,2 cm)
Weight: 0.175 kg
Published: 1955
Publisher: Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó
Item number: 1937
ISMN: 9790080019375
'String quartets accompanied Bartók's creative career from the First, composed in 1908, to the Sixth, completed in 1939 while still in Europe. The First String Quartet was the most significant creation of the newly fledged composer. It is unsurprising then that when composing a work of such scale as the First String Quartet in 1908, Bartók should attenuate the German spirit with French colours. The co-habitation of the two is a characteristically Jugendstil phenomenon, perfectly in keeping with the trends of the age. However, this blending of styles was not a conscious effort on Bartók's part; rather, he was exploring various means of expression. The tonal plan, too, is rather curious: the first movement is in A flat minor, the second in B major, the third in A minor; that is, the closed tonal system typical of Classical form, and which would reappear in Bartók's later works, is in no way present here.'
(HCD 32513 Bartók New Series, Vol. 13, János Kárpáti)
Copyright © 2017 Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó Ltd.
All rights are reserved. Terms & Conditions. Technical contact: webmaster­@­

Editio Musica Budapest and EMB are registered trade marks of Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó Kft and are used under Licence.