How can I shop?

Online purchase:

Buy directly from our web-shop via credit/debit card payment. With this method, only publications which we currently have on stock can be purchased.

In-store pickup:

If you prefer not to shop online, you also have the option to order from our website and we will forward your order to one of our partner music shops of your choosing. In this case, you will buy the scores directly from the shop and pay for them there upon pickup.

Your purchase and payment method can be set here.

Sound samples are used by the permission of Hungaroton Records, BMCBBCC and the composers.
Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.

Need help?

If you can't find what you're looking for, please contact our Customer Service Team

Phone: +36 1 2361-104

Email: info­@­

More numbers...

Price: $15.45 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: In stock (some copies)
Store availability: Available

Bartók Béla: Four Dirges

(c. 1909-10, BB 58, Sz 45)

Op. 9/a
Setting: Piano
Period: 20th Century
Length: 12 pages
Format: Bach (23 x 30,2 cm)
Weight: 0.067 kg
Published: 1955
Publisher: Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó
Item number: 1765
ISMN: 9790080017654
'This music, moving even in its bleakness, is characterised by the complete absence of ornamentation. The arc of all four pieces [1. Adagio, 2. Andante, 3. Poco lento, 4. Assai andante] is similar: after beginning softly they reach a fortissimo climax, then sink back into numbing grief. Only the decidedly important melodic and harmonic elements are heard, pared down, occasionally reinforced with octave doubling. In the Adagio of the Second Piano Concerto Bartók was to return to this peculiar piano instrumentation. The lyricism and Hungarian turns of phrase of the second movement differ a little from the series: he orchestrated it with the title 'Melody' in 1931 as the central piece of the five-movement 'Hungarian Sketches'.'
(HCD 32525 Bartók New Series Vol. 25, Somfai László)


Poco lento
Assai andante
Copyright © 2017 Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó Ltd.
All rights are reserved. Terms & Conditions. Technical contact: webmaster­@­

Editio Musica Budapest and EMB are registered trade marks of Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó Kft and are used under Licence.