How can I shop?

Online purchase:

Buy directly from our web-shop via credit/debit card payment. With this method, only publications which we currently have on stock can be purchased.

In-store pickup:

If you prefer not to shop online, you also have the option to order from our website and we will forward your order to one of our partner music shops of your choosing. In this case, you will buy the scores directly from the shop and pay for them there upon pickup.

Your purchase and payment method can be set here.

Sound samples are used by the permission of Hungaroton Records, BMCBBCC and the composers.
Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.

Need help?

If you can't find what you're looking for, please contact our Customer Service Team

Phone: +36 1 2361-104

Email: info­@­

More numbers...

Price: $15.95 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: In stock
Store availability: Available

Bartók Béla: Three Burlesques

for Piano

Op. 8/c
Setting: Piano
Period: 20th Century
Language: Hungarian, French
Length: 24 pages
Format: Bach (23 x 30,2 cm)
Weight: 0.098 kg
Published: 1954
Publisher: Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó
Item number: 1763
ISMN: 9790080017630
'Two pieces of scherzo character in triple time flank a slower movement in duple time. The first burlesque entitled 'Quarrel' is Márta's piece, Nov. 1908, is a dispute between two opposing characters, with grimaces and taunts. The second burlesque, with the subtitle 'Slightly Tipsy' or 'A bit drunk' is one of Bartók's ingenious programme music miniatures, with characteristic performance indications. The figure appearing in a stumbling rhythm begins to sing indifferently, then continues ruvido (coarsely). By the end of the middle section, to be played in dry tone, our hero collapses completely, and takes leave as a pitiful figure, like the wooden puppet after the dance in The Wooden Prince ballet. ...Finally, the titleless third burlesque, Molto vivo, capriccioso, also stimulates the imagination: one can detect in it the grotesque rush of the last bagatelle, 'My Dancing Sweetheart,' just like the Wooden Prince dance.
(HCD 32525 Bartók New Series Vol. 25, László Somfai)


Slightly Tipsy
Molto vivo capriccioso

Copyright © 2017 Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó Ltd.  All rights are reserved. 

About usTerms & Conditions | Technical contact: webmaster­@­

Editio Musica Budapest and EMB are registered trade marks of Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó Kft and are used under Licence.