Price: $24.95 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: In stock
Store availability: Available
Also available at Amazon

Kurtág György: Quintetto per fiati

Revised edition

playing score

Op. 2
Setting: Wind Quintet
Genre: Contemporary Hungarian Works
Length: 18 pages
Format: 23 x 30,2 cm (Bach)
Weight: 0.098 kg
Published: January 2009
Publisher: Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest
Item number: 14638
ISMN: 9790080146385
Composed in 1959, the wind quintet represents the second phase in the process started in Kurtág's compositional activity by the String Quartet. A lengthy stay in Paris (studies with Milhaud and Marianne Stein), acquaintance with 20th century music other than Bartók's induced Kurtág to radically reevaluate his oeuvre. The new artistic orientation that resulted from that reevaluation demanded and made possible the development of a more precise, unequivocal compositional technique. The Wind Quintet is written for the traditional instruments of the genre, but the material given the instruments to play involves new means of expression and places the performers before very high technical demands. The Wind Quintet is in eight brief movements. It is not a series of bagatelles, however, but an uninterrupted arch. The microforms are highly articulated in themselves, the motifs, often consisting their gestural power, their emotional content. Every little detail is only understood in their place in the entire large form and is at the same time of decisive importance for the form. World premiere: Budapest 1963, Budapest Wind Quintet. Duration: 7'
How can I shop?

Online purchase:

Buy directly from our web-shop via credit/debit card payment. With this method, only publications which we currently have on stock can be purchased.

In-store pickup:

If you prefer not to shop online, you also have the option to order from our website and we will forward your order to one of our partner music shops of your choosing. In this case, you will buy the scores directly from the shop and pay for them there upon pickup.

Your purchase and payment method can be set here.

Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.