How can I shop?

Online purchase:

Buy directly from our web-shop via credit/debit card payment. With this method, only publications which we currently have on stock can be purchased.

In-store pickup:

If you prefer not to shop online, you also have the option to order from our website and we will forward your order to one of our partner music shops of your choosing. In this case, you will buy the scores directly from the shop and pay for them there upon pickup.

Your purchase and payment method can be set here.

Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.

Need help?

If you can't find what you're looking for, please contact our Customer Service Team

Phone: +36 1 2361-104

Email: info­@­

More numbers...

Rights & Rental:

Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest Zeneműkiadó Ltd.

Price: $31.45 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: In stock
Store availability: Available

Serei Zsolt: Serenade for horn and chamber ensemble


Setting: Chamber Music for Mixed Ensemble
Series: EMB Contemporary Music
Genre: Contemporary Hungarian Works
Period: Contemporary Music
Language: Hungarian, English
Length: 40 pages
Format: K/4 quer (31 x 23,5 cm)
Published: May 2006
Publisher: Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest
Item number: 14485
ISMN: 9790080144855
In view of its arrangement Serenade, written for horn and chamber orchestra of fourteen instruments, may be regarded as a chamber concert. The one-movement piece written on command of horn player László Rákos is at the same time related to the notturno music of the 18th-19th centuries. It is a character piece in which a subdued, subtle irony makes itself felt alongside the characteristically night-time atmosphere. The solo role of the horn is obvious throughout, though the initial impetus is not sustained, and in the course of the movement the instrument falls silent. The instruments of the accompanying group join in with the horn in three ways: the clarinet, the English horn, the bassoon, the viola, the violoncello play the melodies of the horn, delicately repeating them, supplementing them or slowing them down, the flute, the violin, the trumpet and the double bass counterpoint the horn?s solos or hold dialogues with it, the third group ? the harp, the guitar, the vibraphone, the cimbalom and the piano ? plays soft, veiled, evenly progressing harmonies. In the last section of the piece, when the first and second group of instruments are no longer playing, these veiled sounds hold together, their rhythm gradually breaks up - the sound environment is reduced, progressively emptied. World premi?re: June 2, 1993, Budapest, László Rákos - horn, Componensemble, cond. Zsolt Serei.