Price: $89.00 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: In stock
Store availability: Available
Also available at Amazon

Kurtág György: ...concertante...

for violin solo, viola solo and orchestra


Setting: Orchestra
Period: Contemporary Music
Duration: ca 24'
Length: 56 pages
Format: A/3
Weight: 0.359 kg
Published: April 2005
Publisher: Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest
Item number: 14392
Other reference: K-114
ISMN: 9790080143926
The 24 minutes long work consists of a single enormous movement (...fantasia...) and a coda containing two parts (coda: recitativo ed epilogo). The range of tone colour in the composition is undoubtedly the key element in its effectiveness, Kurtág luxuriates in the possibilities offered by the two solo instruments and the huge orchestra. His instrumentation is magical, the exceptionally big percussion section is enriched with the incomparable sound of a new instrument, the steel drum. The ”concertante”was premiered in 2003 in Copenhagen by Hiromi Kikuchi, Ken Hakii and the Danish Radio Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Michael Schonwand. In 2006, this work won the University of Louisville Grawemeyer Award for Music Composition.The performance rights of the violin and viola solo parts have been reserved for Hiromi Kikuchi and Ken Hakii.

How can I shop?

Online purchase:

Buy directly from our web-shop via credit/debit card payment. With this method, only publications which we currently have on stock can be purchased.

In-store pickup:

If you prefer not to shop online, you also have the option to order from our website and we will forward your order to one of our partner music shops of your choosing. In this case, you will buy the scores directly from the shop and pay for them there upon pickup.

Your purchase and payment method can be set here.

Sound samples are used by the permission of Hungaroton Records, BMCBBCC and the composers.
Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.