Price: $55.95 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: In stock
Store availability: Available
Also available at Amazon

Jeney Zoltán: Self-quotations

for five instruments


Setting: Mixed Chamber Quintet
Instrumentation: Cl. in Sib, Vl, Vlc, Mar., Pf
Period: Contemporary Music
Length: 32 pages
Format: A/4
Published: November 2022
Publisher: Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest
Item number: 14026
Other reference: J-22
ISMN: 9790080140260
The title of the chamber piece Self-Quotations already carries the danger of sentimental retrospect. Of course, Jeney rejects this possibility: he summarizes the confrontation with his own career so far not in a large-format composition intended to be representative, but in a chamber work written for five instruments. Self-control and the tension that comes with it is also manifested in the fact how he highlights the self-quotations from their original environment, completely transforms them, and, as if they were just found objects, is preoccupied with what he can do with them. Distancing oneself from erupting emotions is associated with playfulness in the Self-Quotations. The playfulness in Jeney's work can be grasped in a variety of compositional processes, all of which call attention to the fact that in this retrospective work the composer was primarily concerned with how to construct a composition from as few and simple musical elements as possible. (Anna Dalos)
How can I shop?

Online purchase:

Buy directly from our web-shop via credit/debit card payment. With this method, only publications which we currently have on stock can be purchased.

In-store pickup:

If you prefer not to shop online, you also have the option to order from our website and we will forward your order to one of our partner music shops of your choosing. In this case, you will buy the scores directly from the shop and pay for them there upon pickup.

Your purchase and payment method can be set here.

Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.