Price: $24.95 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: In stock
Store availability: Available
Also available at Amazon

Kurtág György: Officium Breve in memoriam Andreae Szervánszky

playing score

Op. 28
Setting: String Quartet
Instrumentation: 2 vl, vla, cb
Genre: Contemporary Hungarian Works
Length: 24 pages
Format: 23 x 30,2 cm (Bach)
Weight: 0.122 kg
Published: April 1995
Publisher: Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest
Item number: 13959
ISMN: 9790080139592
The premiere of Kurtág's so-called "third string quartet," composed in 1988-89, took place at the 1989 Witten Festival in the performance of the Auryn String Quartet. In this work, the composer sought to combine two fundamentally different musical worlds: the music of Anton Webern and Endre Szervánszky (1911-1977). The individual movements of the piece are rooted in personal relationships, undergo multiple transformations and are randomly connected to each other. The two musical quotes (Webern: Canon op. 31 VI. and Szervánszky: Serenade for Strings, movement III) appear in the middle and at the end of the composition.


Largo - In memoriam Tibor Turcsányi
Pi? andante - In memoriam Zsolt Baranyay
Sostenuto, quasi giusto
Grave, molto sostenuto
Presto - Fantasie über die Harmonien des Webern-Kanons
Molto agitato - Canon a 4
Sehr flissend - Canon a 2 (frei nach Op. 31/ VI von Webern)
Lento - In memoriam Gabriella Garzó
Sehr fliessend - Webern: Canon a 4 Op. 31/ VI
Sostenuto - In memoriam György Szoltsányi
Sostenuto, quasi giusto
Sostenuto, con slancio
Disperato, vivo
Larghetto - Arioso interrotto (di Endre Szervánszky)
How can I shop?

Online purchase:

Buy directly from our web-shop via credit/debit card payment. With this method, only publications which we currently have on stock can be purchased.

In-store pickup:

If you prefer not to shop online, you also have the option to order from our website and we will forward your order to one of our partner music shops of your choosing. In this case, you will buy the scores directly from the shop and pay for them there upon pickup.

Your purchase and payment method can be set here.

Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.