Price: $29.95 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: In stock
Store availability: Available
Also available at Amazon

Eötvös Péter: Windsequenzen - Sequences of the Wind (1975-2002)

For flute and ensemble


Setting: Chamber Orchestra
Instrumentation: Fl (Afl, Picc), Ob (Ehorn, Windimitation), 2 Kl, Bkl, Tuba, Akkordeon, Kb, Schlagzeug
Genre: Contemporary Hungarian Works
Language: German
Duration: 29'
Length: 40 pages
Format: 23 x 30,2 cm (Bach)
Weight: 0.18 kg
Published: February 2004
Publisher: Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest
Item number: 12954
Other reference: E-6
ISMN: 9790080129548
In 1970 Péter Eötvös spent half a year in Japan where he performed as a member of Karlheinz Stockhausen's ensemble in the German pavilion at the World Expo in Osaka. The encounter with Japanese culture, specifically with Zen Buddhism, had a great effect on him. The fundamental idea of The Sequences of the Wind is one of Zen's complementary contrasts: stillness in movement - movement in stillness. It was inspired by the Japanese landscape and Japanese gardens (the rain, the wind, the sound of stones and the rustle of bamboo cane). This is the third version of the work and was published to mark the 60th birthday of Péter Eötvös. (The composer withdrew the first two versions written in 1975 and 1989.) Several elements of modern flute playing appear in the work, which has eight movements at present. The soloist alternately plays four different instruments (a flute of normal tone, a flute that is tuned a quarter tone lower, an alto flute tuned a quarter tone lower and a piccolo).

Parts are available on hire (E-6).


Windstille I
Drei Sequenzen des Bergwindes
Sieben Sequenzen des Wirbelwindes
Sequenz des Morgenwindes
Vier Seguenzen des Seewindes - Nordwind
Vier Sequenzen des Seewindes - Südwind
Ost - Westwind
Windstille II
How can I shop?

Online purchase:

Buy directly from our web-shop via credit/debit card payment. With this method, only publications which we currently have on stock can be purchased.

In-store pickup:

If you prefer not to shop online, you also have the option to order from our website and we will forward your order to one of our partner music shops of your choosing. In this case, you will buy the scores directly from the shop and pay for them there upon pickup.

Your purchase and payment method can be set here.

Sound samples are used by the permission of Hungaroton Records, BMCBBCC and the composers.
Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his/her rightful income for his/her intellectual property.