Copyright information

Please note that it is illegal to photocopy copyright protected music without the permission of the copyright holder.

To photocopy is to deprive the composer/author of his rightful income for his intellectual property.

Need help?

If you can't find what you're looking for, please contact our sales team

Phone: +36 1 2361-104

Email: info­@­


We think you are from United States. If not, please select your country.
The country setting is indispensable for showing you valid prices and shipping costs.
Thank you!
If you can't close this box, you probably don't have "cookies" enabled in your browser.
Follow these instructions to enable "cookies" in your browser.
Price: $13.45 (Excl. VAT)
Online availability: Out of stock.
Store availability: Out of stock

Kurtág György: Brefs Messages (2011)

for Chamber Ensemble


Op. 47
Setting: Chamber Music for Mixed Ensemble
Instrumentation: Cor. ing, Cl in Sib, Clb in Sib, Cor in Fa, Tr in Do (ad lib 2 Tr), Trb, Vl, Vla, Vlc
Period: Contemporary Music
Duration: 10'
Length: 28 pages
Published: March 2012
Publisher: Universal Music Publishing Editio Musica Budapest
Item number: 14783
Other reference: K-120
ISMN: 9790080147832
Brefs Messages op. 47, for nine instruments was premiered by Ensemble Contrechamps on November 1st 2011 in Geneva. The work was commissioned by Contrechamps and dedicated to this ensemble and the conductor of the premiere Olivier Cuendet. Its first movement (Fanfare) was written specifically for Cuendet; the second one (Versetto: Temptavit Deus Abraham - apokrif organum) is dedicated to the Hungarian musicologist László Dobszay. As often in Kurtág's practice, the third and fourth movements are rescored version of earlier instrumental pieces: the former one (Ligatura Y) was originally a part of Games for piano, the latter one (Bornemisza: Az hit ...) derives from the Sayings of Péter Bornemisza op. 7.

Parts are available on hire (K-120).


Fanfare a Olivier Cuendet
Versetto: Temptavit Deus Abraham (apokrif organum) to László Dobszay
Ligatura Y
Bornemisza Péter: Az hit ...